Search Unity

Stealing spells properly!

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by FeastSC2, Sep 4, 2017.

1. FeastSC2

FeastSC2

I'm relatively new to programming,
    I want to have a player that can steal the spells of the enemies, there surely will be a lot of spells in the game.

It feels like adding components to the player is a good idea because I will need almost exactly the same code as the enemy, I want the stolen spell to behave in the same fashion as when the enemy uses it when possible.

So since my player will have to be able to use any spell, surely all the spell components must have a same method like Activate() to start their effect, that sounds like I have to create an interface for all stealable spells.

Lastly, I might have a component say "ProjectileManager" that could cast lots of different spells, but when I'm stealing a spell from an enemy I need to be able to copy his ProjectileManager and not just create a new one that doesn't have the enemy's particular settings, is there an easy way to do this?

Does that sound good or is it better to just add prefabs? Maybe prefabs are more flexible?
    Any suggestion is welcome!

2. ADNCG

ADNCG

Here's how I'd do it.

Have all your spells inherit from a "Spell" class in which you put an activate method that takes 2 parameters, the caster gameobject and a target gameobject for spells that require a target.
    https://unity3d.com/fr/learn/tutorials/topics/scripting/inheritance

You should design your spells to be independent from whatever gameobject casts it.

e.g. Imagine a fireball that goes from the caster's hand to the target. For this fireball to work, it needs to know what the caster's hand position is and who the target is. The damage, speed, effects and everything else can all be handled internally in the fireball class.