Search Unity

State of Determinism in Unity

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Iron-Warrior, Jan 10, 2022.

1. Iron-Warrior

Iron-Warrior

Determinism is a subject that gets talked about a lot in various threads, but I haven't seen a central location to discuss it so thought I'd make one. (N.B. I'm not an expert in software determinism, just interested in its uses for netcode. If there are any errors in the below please feel free to correct me.)

Tl;dr, some questions about determinism in Unity
    • Is cross platform float determinism in all code (not just Burst) feasible as a feature Unity could investigate (either through IL2CPP or other means)? Does Unity control the entire toolchain with IL2CPP (to be able to enable strict modes etc)?
    • Are there any ongoing efforts/investigations into determinism/deterministic games frameworks at Unity?
    ...but what is determinism, and why does it matter?

Overview

In the context of software and specifically games, determinism means that, for a given set of inputs a simulation will always give the exact same outputs. For games applications where determinism is needed it is essential that the outputs are identical down to the individual bit—"close enough" is not enough.

In games, determinism is most valuable for networking. Without determinism, in a standard server-client setup servers must a) simulate the game and b) send the resulting state of the simulation to all clients.

With determinism, servers do not need necessarily need run the simulation at all (though they still may), and to replicate the state of the game they need to only send the clients' inputs. This is since if every client receives the same input set and inserts them into the simulation in the same order, all clients will end up with the exact same simulation. This means that bandwidth scales only with player count and input size, rather than with overall game state.