Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Standard Surface vs. Unlit shaders - backface culling and transparency

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Cazil, Aug 14, 2021.

1. Cazil

Cazil

Hi all!

Just to preface, I'm new to writing shaders so sorry if anything is a little confusing. I tried to look this question up but couldn't find an answer online.

I'm confused as to how transparency and culling work in Shaderlab. I'm writing a holographic-type shader in both a Standard Surface shader and an Unlit shader (just for learning purposes). They both have transparency enabled and need to do backface culling so the holographic effect doesn't show on internal geometry.

In an Unlit shader, all I have to do to do backface culling is use:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Cull Back
    to not render the back of the mesh.

However, in a Standard Surface shader, I have to add an entire pass before the holographic pass:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Pass
    2. {
    3.        Zwrite On
    4.        ColorMask 0
    5. }
    And if I put Cull Back instead of the second pass in the Standard Surface shader, it doesn't actually change anything! (at least visually).

Why do I have to have a new pass for a Standard Surface shader, and why do Cull Back/Off/Front have different effects depending on what type of shader you're using?

2. bgolus

bgolus

I think you're misunderstanding what
    Cull
    does.

Each triangle has a facing, which is determined by the winding order as it appears on screen. Basically if the vertices of a triangle are in a clockwise order when seen by the camera, that's the "front" of the triangle, and if it's counter-clockwise it's the "back" of the triangle.
    Cull
    determines if either side is skipped if it's facing the camera, where
    Cull Back
    hides the back of the triangle,
    Cull Front
    hides the front, and