Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Standard shader: How to add lightmap from 3dsmax on UV2?

Discussion in 'Unity 5 Pre-order Beta' started by Cascho01, Nov 4, 2014.

  1. Cascho01

    Cascho01

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1,320
    I can't figure out, how to add a lightmap coming from an external package (3dsmax) usually baked to UV-Channel 2.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. ArteyS

    ArteyS

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    I am having the exact same problem. I had hoped I could plug it in the emission channel, but I can't because i can't specify the emission channel to use UV set 2.

    Have you found a solution to this yet?
     
    JamesArndt likes this.
  3. Cascho01

    Cascho01

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1,320
    No, let´s hope UT will fix this.
     
  4. Kuba

    Kuba

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    416
    JamesArndt likes this.
  5. GabeF

    GabeF

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Posts:
    38
    Kuba could you supply more info please? For example I have 1 lightmap atlas uv baked on 3 seperate objects from another application. It's a tga texture file. How do I apply that lightmap to uv slot 2 on the standard shader in unity? Sorry I can't find this specific info anywhere.
     
  6. Cascho01

    Cascho01

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1,320
    Yes, please give us at least a short list of steps on how to add a lightmap coming from Max or whatever to a standard material.
     
    JamesArndt likes this.
  7. Jde

    Jde

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Posts:
    139
    I think he means something like this. Add this script to the mesh you want to assign the lightmap to.

    The process is...
    - Add your bespoke lightmap (or lightmaps) in to the lightmaps array
    - Hit 'Set Lightmap Array'
    - Set the lightmap index and tiling/offset values you want for the mesh
    - Hit 'Set Lightmap Values'
     

    Attached Files:

    confy, highpockets and IgorAherne like this.
  8. Cascho01

    Cascho01

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1,320
    Thanks, but doesn´t work for me.
    No matter, however - UT guys have to implement a workflow for this.
     
    JamesArndt likes this.
  9. Jde

    Jde

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Posts:
    139
    Oh weird. Did you set the Lightmap Index to 0?
     
  10. Jde

    Jde

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Posts:
    139
    Actually, you might need to turn off Continuous Baking in the lighting tab, and set lightmap mode to Non Directional too.
     
    qerrrrr likes this.
unityunity