Search Unity

Question Сreation is not manual

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Lux1606, Mar 28, 2022.

1. Lux1606

Lux1606

Hello. Please teach me how to create child objects not by hand, but by a script. I understand the logic behind this action. (we make rays to the sides of the object and create the right amount, but I need to see and understand the code) thanks in advance. Attached an example of how I have now manually done.
    help.jpg

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

Welcome to the wide world of procedural generation! It is incredibly rewarding and a VERY deep subject.

I have been doing procedural generation since the very first game(s) I wrote back in the late 1970s and I am still learning new stuff even today.

Unity makes procgen INCREDIBLY easy, easier than any other system I've used.

Searching for "procedural generation unity" will turn you up TONS of tutorials.

You're welcome to check out random examples in my MakeGeo project.

MakeGeo is presently hosted at these locations:

https://bitbucket.org/kurtdekker/makegeo

https://github.com/kurtdekker/makegeo

https://gitlab.com/kurtdekker/makegeo

https://sourceforge.net/p/makegeo

Tutorials and example code are great, but keep this in mind to maximize your success and minimize your frustration:

How to do tutorials properly, two (2) simple steps to success:

Tutorials are a GREAT idea. Tutorials should be used this way:

Step 1. Follow the tutorial and do every single step of the tutorial 100% precisely the way it is shown. Even the slightest deviation (even a single character!) generally ends in disaster. That's how software engineering works. Every step must be taken, every single letter must be spelled, capitalized, punctuated and spaced (or not spaced) properly, literally NOTHING can be omitted or skipped.

Fortunately this is the easiest part to get right: Be a robot. Don't make any mistakes.
    BE PERFECT IN EVERYTHING YOU DO HERE!!