Search Unity

  1. Check out the Unite LA keynote for updates on the Visual Effect Editor, the FPS Sample, ECS, Unity for Film and more! Watch it now!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Sprite Pivot Problem

Discussion in 'Unity UI & TextMesh Pro' started by TheXWolf, Aug 29, 2014.

  1. TheXWolf

    TheXWolf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Posts:
    84
    So I've been using Sprites ever since they were added into unity. I'm currently using x.b16 but every time I change the pivot point it doesn't save anymore. This is a new problem and I've tried making an empty project and just importing the PNGs never seems to save. Sometimes the sprite even moves a bit acting like it took effect but it's still in the middle center. I change it to Top or Right etc, no dice same problem. I even tried opening the project in 4.5 setting it up and saving then opening in 4.6 it goes right back to being screwed up. Tried with b16 & b14 with the same problem. Can anyone suggest anything?
     
  2. StarManta

    StarManta

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    6,037
    I sometimes have to set the pivot twice. Have you tried that? Move it, Apply, Move it, Apply, and maybe it works the second time?
     
  3. Tim-C

    Tim-C

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,077
    Please raise a bug.
     
  4. IntDev

    IntDev

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Posts:
    152
    I already raised this bug yesterday: 629556
     
  5. TheXWolf

    TheXWolf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Posts:
    84
    Not only am I having his problem, but it doesn't matter if I move it 50 times it never applies.
     
  6. IntDev

    IntDev

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Posts:
    152
    Yours is worse :p
     
  7. Mistale

    Mistale

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Posts:
    173
    @TheXWolf : Perhaps a stupid suggestion, but are you sure you have "Pivot" active instead of "Center" in the top toolbar? :)
     
  8. TheXWolf

    TheXWolf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Posts:
    84
    My "Pivot" mode is set to "Custom" and even if I change it to a preset such as top right or bottom or anything besides center it returns to center no matter what the selection is.
     
  9. rorakin3

    rorakin3

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Posts:
    443
    I think you are setting anchor not pivot.
     
  10. IntDev

    IntDev

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Posts:
    152
    note: this is not about UI, it's about 2d sprite.
     
  11. runevision

    runevision

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    1,358
    Please file a bug as well then, maybe it's a different issue and it sounds more severe than the other issues where it only doesn't work the first time. Also, our QA have reproduced the issue in 4.5 as well, so none of this is really related to 4.6 or the new UI feature. The already reported bug has been assigned to our 2D team but may not be fixed in 4.6.
     
  12. Alienguard2000

    Alienguard2000

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    I just spent two weeks trying to solve this problem...
    It was not a stupid suggestion at all. This was my problem. I had Center active. I switched to Pivot and now I am happy again... This is kind of embarrassing...
    Thank You!
     
  13. funshark

    funshark

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    225
    same here!!
    Didn't know this option affects also the sprite objects!!! o_O
     
  14. MalachiteBR

    MalachiteBR

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    22
    It seems im having the same issue with unity 5... anybody else ??
     
  15. Devil_Inside

    Devil_Inside

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Posts:
    926
    Check your top toolbar where your pan, move, rotate, scale, rect tools are. Just to the right of those tools there's a selector to toggle between Center and Pivot. Make sure it says Pivot.
     
    nishantdhage1989 likes this.
  16. MalachiteBR

    MalachiteBR

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    22
    Can you believe that in years of using unity I never noticed those buttons!?
     
    Devil_Inside likes this.
  17. Dante Belmonth

    Dante Belmonth

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    I have the same problem with 2d sprite. That when I edit and you move the pivot, to add to the project, the pivot remains in the center, try to move it in all possible ways and keep, to add again, still in the center. The actually am using unity 5. Please help me.

    And sorry if this is not the right option to request assistance or report a situation.
     
  18. funshark

    funshark

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    225
    Guys, please read the entire thread next time, since the issue has been resolved.
    It would be nice, also, to edit this thread title with a [RESOLVED]... the forum would be muuuuuch better if everyone could do that
     
  19. Falling Bear

    Falling Bear

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    You are lifesaver, thanks !
     
  20. Maik93

    Maik93

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Sorry for my bad English .

    @TheXWolf posed the solution is correct.
    just enough to change it to pivot.
    in unity 4 this change automatically.
    at least for me work.
    Error Pivot.jpg
     
  21. PythonDK

    PythonDK

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Posts:
    14
    Saved me!
     
  22. gombarcik

    gombarcik

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    There is no stupid question. Scrolled down to see the "pivot" versus "center" answer. Wish I'd looked an hour earlier!
     
  23. WizzleGameWorks

    WizzleGameWorks

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks for this answer!
     
  24. Nivbot

    Nivbot

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Posts:
    11
    This is not resolved. I'm having this issue right now. My other sprites changed just fine. It is refusing to change one particular sprite though.... Never mind. I was using the wrong sprite ><
     
  25. wechat_os_Qy0-_swr8gwq7EWr1eX-wekTE

    wechat_os_Qy0-_swr8gwq7EWr1eX-wekTE

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Me too. I though it was a damn bug o_O