Search Unity

Feedback Sprite Packer slow and mode setting should be user pref instead of ProjectSetting

Discussion in '2D' started by Xarbrough, Jul 1, 2019.

1. Xarbrough

Xarbrough

We've started using the Sprite Atlas but noticed that it's a lot of work getting the packing times down to a minimum. Currently using a high quality setting took 40 minutes or more, so we switched to low quality and packing times went down to 5 minutes. Still a lot, because our project is not too big yet.

I know it can be difficult to optimize this process, so my first complaint is actually, that the Sprite Packer Mode (Always Enabled vs Enabled for Builds) is part of the ProjectSettings. This should be part of the local user settings or hook into some system of overrides, where project defaults can be set but overridden by the local machine.

All of my projects are developed in teams in a version control context and each user has a different look on the project. As a programmer, I don't need to wait for sprites to be packed in edit mode, but our vfx designer or graphics programmers do want to see packed sprites, etc. When I switch roles and become a build engineer, I need to test packed sprites vs no atlas in builds and don't want to revert the project settings every time.

I think this is true for a lot of settings that are currently part of the ProjectSettings asset and Unity should re-evaluate if these make sense when used by teams and version control.

Thank you!

2. ColossalPaul

ColossalPaul

Unity Technologies

hi,

Thanks for the feedback. We have heard about this (or variation of this) before and we would love to fix it.
    We tried to attack it about a year ago and it was hard because of how some of our internals work.

But with 19.3, those challenges should be significantly reduced. But still, it remains a huge task.
    I'll make sure we put this near the top.