Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only. On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live. Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Sprite Editor - Slice not working 2019.2.0a9

Discussion in '2019.2 Beta' started by JooleanLogic, Apr 1, 2019.

  1. JooleanLogic

    JooleanLogic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Posts:
    447
    Import a sprite, click Sprite Editor and then click the Slice button.
    Clicking any of the dropdown menus in the Slice subwindow (e.g. Type) shows the menu, but the rest of the Slice subwindow disappears.
    When I select an item from the menu, the menu just disappears with no changes being applied.

    I'm on linux, but didn't have this problem with 2019.2.0a6
     
    fabioj likes this.
  2. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,143
    Thanks for writing about this here. Could you please submit a bug report for the issue and reply in here with the issue ID?
     
  3. JooleanLogic

    JooleanLogic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Posts:
    447
    Bug issue# 1142911

    I installed 2019.2.0a9 on Windows and don't have this problem so this is a linux only issue.
    Perhaps moderator can move it over to the linux forum.
     
    LeonhardP likes this.
  4. parf1k

    parf1k

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I still have this issue with unity-editor-beta 2019.2.3f1. Should it be fixed there or not?

    This happens on 2019.1.14f1.
     
  5. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Did you set Sprite Mode to "multiple" before?
     
  6. JooleanLogic

    JooleanLogic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Posts:
    447
    Yes. This is an old thread and the bug has already been resolved in 2019.3.

    The issue report said back in May that a backport to 2019.2 was already in progress but I don't now what the status of that is.
     
  7. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Sorry for that.

    Slicing works perfectly for me in 2019.2.3f1. What size is your sprite?
     
  8. JooleanLogic

    JooleanLogic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Posts:
    447
    This was a linux only issue too. If you're on Windows, there's no problem.
     
  9. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Ah...

    You should probably post this in the Linux forums. :)
     
  10. JooleanLogic

    JooleanLogic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Posts:
    447
  11. parf1k

    parf1k

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Yep, that's why I decided to bump this thread.

    Have you checked this already on 2019.3? Maybe the problem is on my side, who knows.
     
  12. parf1k

    parf1k

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I can't basically do any slicing other than automatic.
     
  13. JooleanLogic

    JooleanLogic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Posts:
    447
    Yes, I'm on latest 2019.3.0b1 and it works. Your video shows the exact splice problem that is now fixed.
    It was fixed months ago though so if it hasn't been backported yet, I would suggest updating to 2019.3 if you can.
     
    parf1k likes this.
  14. parf1k

    parf1k

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    It seems I didn't install the latest update correctly. I have reinstalled 2019.3 and now it works just fine. Thanks! Sorry for bothering.