Search Unity

  1. Are you interested in providing feedback directly to Unity teams? Sign up to become a member of Unity Pulse, our new product feedback and research community.
    Dismiss Notice

Spring joints for Havok physics

Discussion in 'DOTS Physics' started by hauwing, Jun 8, 2020.

  1. hauwing

    hauwing

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    Posts:
    61
    Hi,

    I tried the Unity Physics Samples scene in /Assets/Tests/JointTest. The scene demonstrates how to simulate spring joints with SpringFrequency and SpringDamping constraints. It works well with Unity Physics, but it does not work when Havok is selected, where those joints are just normal ball and socket joint without spring effect. Did I miss something? how to set spring joints with the new physics just like the legacy spring joints? Thanks.
     
  2. petarmHavok

    petarmHavok

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Posts:
    461
    Hey, can you just tell us which demo exactly were you looking at? I'll take a look.
     
  3. hauwing

    hauwing

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    Posts:
    61
    Hi, it is the SoftJoint scene under Assets/Tests/JointTest, which is downloaded from the Unity Physics Samples package. please see attached screenshots, thanks

    upload_2020-6-8_19-23-55.png
    upload_2020-6-8_19-26-11.png
     
  4. petarmHavok

    petarmHavok

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Posts:
    461
    Thanks for reporting this! Working on a fix...
     
  5. backwheelbates

    backwheelbates

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Posts:
    159
    Hi @petarmHavok, just confirming, has this been fixed?
    Thanks!!
     
  6. steveeHavok

    steveeHavok

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2019
    Posts:
    480
    This has been fixed. FYI I'm pushing for a new release of com.unity.physics and com.havok.physics. I'll post a separate thread when available.
     
    PhilSA, LandonF and petarmHavok like this.
  7. backwheelbates

    backwheelbates

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Posts:
    159
    Great thanks for the quick reply!!
     
  8. linfuqing

    linfuqing

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Posts:
    139
    @steveeHavok,will phyiscs systems use ISystemBase in next version?
     
  9. steveeHavok

    steveeHavok

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2019
    Posts:
    480
    (--Yes--)
    Apologies @linfuqing, I jumped to quickly on this.
    We are moving looking to move to ISystemBase but this release will still extend SystemBase.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2021
    linfuqing likes this.
  10. linfuqing

    linfuqing

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Posts:
    139
    :(Oh,it's so long time for me.StepPhysicsWorld(update 50-100 times per rollback) cost many main thread time(100MS+) in my timewrap-based client,but all colliders are static or Kinematic.
    Is there any internal code that I can use temporarily?
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2021
  11. steveeHavok

    steveeHavok

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2019
    Posts:
    480
    Is it worth start a separate thread for this as it isn't necessarily related to the thread topic? If you need to blast through a bunch of steps in a physics simulation without going through StepPhysicsWorld you can do that. In fact, if everything is Kinematic and Static then you only need to integrate everything?
    Please start a new thread to discuss.
     
    linfuqing likes this.
unityunity