Search Unity

Spells and SpellCraft

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Sciwiz12, Oct 9, 2015.

1. Sciwiz12

Sciwiz12

Hello, my name is Ricardo and I am a game design student at FullSail university. I'm currently working on a game in which I'm attempting to implement a dynamic spell system that will allow players to experiment with spells on the fly. My first thought was to implement a finite state machine such that pressing shift would allow players to enter a concentration mode causing the wasd keys to act as spell form control inputs (for example hold shift to concentrate, w to form a cone, click to cast). Then by holding shift and space the wasd keys would function as elemental control keys (w as lightning, w and f for plasma, etc...) and I was quite pleased with this arrangement initially as it promises the aesthetic of experimentation in a dynamic fashion.

Here's my trouble, the initial concentration turning wasd into form control inputs wasn't very intuitive, so I thought to change them to force and intensity scales, but apart from being vaguely defined concepts and thusly also unintuitive it also risked too much overlap with elements. (For instance high intensity risks being too much like fire).

So now I'm trying to think of some system that will allow players to intuitively shape spells (for instance deciding they want a cone of fire vs a fire ball, or a shield, etc...).

Gigiwoo likes this.
  2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

That's a hard problem. But let's brainstorm!

Assuming WASD are normally used for movement, we want to assign meanings that somehow relate to the directions they already represent in the player's mind (if possible).