Search Unity

Speeding up load time of Unity itself

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by LoekvanKooten, Feb 1, 2019.

1. LoekvanKooten

LoekvanKooten

I have 64 MB of RAM and am reading from an SSD, but with more than 70,000 files and 40 GB in the Assets folder, Unity takes a very long time to load (up to 40 seconds). Thing is, I may need all these assets sooner or later, but they don't all need to be read or checked. Why doesn't Unity keep tabs of only the files that are needed in the scene?

Total noob question probably, and I'm probably missing something.

2. JeffDUnity3D

JeffDUnity3D

40 GB in the assets folder? That is a LOT. And 70,000 files is a LOT. If you don't need them in your project, probably best to delete them. When you need one, you add it back in. Back up your project first, and delete away! Or, start with a new/empty project and ONLY add the assets that you need.

LoekvanKooten likes this.
  3. LoekvanKooten

LoekvanKooten

@JeffDUnity3D Thing is, these are files installed automatically by assets from the Unity Asset Store in the Assets folder. I can of course randomly start deleting files I don't use, but often there are dependencies. What would be the easiest way to handle this? Unity itself knows which files it is actually using in a build, right? If not, what would be your approach? Thank you in advance!

4. JeffDUnity3D

JeffDUnity3D

No, Unity should not be "automatically" adding 40GB of assets, can you show a few screenshots? I suspect what you mean, you add an asset that you DO need, and the asset comes with a bunch of stuff that you DON'T need, like demos, etc?

5. LoekvanKooten

LoekvanKooten

@JeffDUnity3D Sure! Most of these are graphics and music pools I use to drag assets from to the project.

6. JeffDUnity3D

JeffDUnity3D

So YOU added them, not Unity. You only add the assets that you need! What is a music pool? If you create a brand new project, all those assets are not there, correct?

7. LoekvanKooten