Search Unity

Spectator View Setup - No NetworkDiscoveryWithAnchor objects

Discussion in 'VR' started by GregPD65356T, Apr 9, 2018.

1. GregPD65356T

GregPD65356T

This is the same question as this one, but worded differently to avoid spamming.

I am setting up Spectator View for a project that's under an NDA. This is my first time doing this, and I'm already running into some trouble regarding anchors.

I followed the steps explained in this blog, but one of the errors I got is the following:

Code (CSharp):
    1. NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object SpectatorView.JoinSelectedSessionButton.Update () (at Assets/Addons/HolographicCameraRig/SV_UNET/Prefabs/Support/Scripts/UI/JoinSelectedSessionButton.cs:32)
    where line 32 of JoinSelectedSessionButton.cs is
    if (networkDiscovery.running && networkDiscovery.isClient)

The static variable
    Instance 
    of the NetworkDiscoveryWithAnchors class is null, as the starting code for that class did not find any objects that are of type NetworkDiscoveryWithAnchors. That instance is assigned to
    networkDiscovery
    . This debug output explains:

Code (CSharp):
    1. Expected exactly 1 SpectatorView.NetworkDiscoveryWithAnchors but found 0 UnityEngine.Debug:LogFormat(String, Object[]) SpectatorView.NetworkDiscoveryWithAnchors:get_Instance() (at Assets/Addons/HolographicCameraRig/SV_UNET/Scripts/NetworkDiscoveryWithAnchors.cs:33) SpectatorView.SpectatorViewManager:Update() (at Assets/Addons/HolographicCameraRig/Scripts/SpectatorViewManager.cs:298)
    I don't have any anchors in my scene at the moment. Before I add an anchor into the scene, though, I want to make sure that when I do so, this line
    Code (CSharp):
    1. NetworkDiscoveryWithAnchors[] objects = FindObjectsOfType<NetworkDiscoveryWithAnchors>();
    will return an array of length one.