Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Spawning AI with a winding changing path

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by SoldierofYHVH, Aug 12, 2017.

1. SoldierofYHVH

SoldierofYHVH

After making a transition from AS3 to C#, and thousands of hours studying C#, I began production on my 3D , top down shoot em up car chase concept. I've been working in 3D for ten years now, so that isn't going to be a problem. As I'm finding out, creating and animating 3D for videos and film is a bit different than creating for games After getting a firm understanding of pooling in my grasp, it seemed like I could pool my AI cars, spawn them just ahead of the camera, destroy them a few feet behind the camera like I'm doing with other objects. However, the road has curves, twist and turns, so a predefined way point system prefab would seem to cause problems when spawned and pooled (if that set up will work). I've been studying up on game design, but I'm still not certain how to go about setting up the AI cars on the highway (that are not involved in the pursuits). How can I spawn cars to conform to a road that has random twist and turns? The player car drives without AI and the pursuing vehicles, up to this point, are just following the player while avoiding obstacles.