Search Unity

Space.world and space.self, whats the difference ?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by TheCelt, Mar 8, 2016.

1. TheCelt

TheCelt

So i am kinda new to 3D gaming development and am not understanding the difference between these two variables.

World Applies transformation relative to the world coordinate system.
    Self Applies transformation relative to the local coordinate system.

World coordinate system makes sense but what is a local coordinate system? What does it mean by "local"? What are the fundamental difference so i know which one to use for my camera movement script.

For example i want to apply this to camera:
    transform.Translate(move, something); //move is a vector3

Where by something is either Space.world or Space.self but am unsure which to use.

2. Tset_Tsyung

Tset_Tsyung

Basically WolrdSpace is measured from the 0, 0,0 in unity. LocalSpace measure the current object's position AS IF it was 0, 0, 0.

In regards to transform.Translate, if you leave 'something' out, it will work from WorldSpace. So if you want to move an object to the position 3, 5, 7 from the original 0, 0, 0 in the game, use WorldSpace (leave that part blank). If you want to move something to a relative position of a player/enemy/car/whatever, you can use local space or a mixture of transforms.

gaolt930724 likes this.
  3. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

@Tset_Tsyung is mostly correct, but there's more to it. 'Self' (local) space takes into account not just the object's position, but its rotation and scale, too.

So if you say transform.Translate(Vector3.forward, Space.Self), this moves the object one unit in its own forward direction, whatever way that happens to be at the moment. If the object is pointing "northwest" then this moves it northwest. And this is the default, so it's what happens if you just say transform.Translate(Vector3.forward).