Search Unity

Sources about Best practices for development with the Unity engine

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Astraly2235, Nov 14, 2022.

1. Astraly2235

Astraly2235

Hey there! :)

I'm a computer science student and I want to learn more about the Unity Game Engine, so I decided to write my scientific literary work about the topic I mentioned in the title.

Was just wondering if someone knows some suitable books, e-books, papers or articles I could use for that. :cool:

Greetings!

2. Antypodish

Antypodish

Unity Engine is fast peaced changing software, considering for book lifetime. Any book about the Unity Engine would become nearly obsolete in few years.

Maybe there are some, but I doubt if they are any up to date. Unless you don't mind writing about older engine version. Which I supose you don't for accede mic purposes.

Source code, docs, internet, forum, discord, YouTube etc, are you best resources for quoting and referencing.

Astraly2235 likes this.
  3. CodeSmile

CodeSmile

Do you want to write about the sources providing these best practices, or the best practices themselves?

Is that work for your university degree? If so, "Unity best practices" is too generic in my opinion. You may want to pick a topic (Unity feature) with a more narrow focus so you can go really in-depth, such as benefits and coding practices of Entities/Jobs/Burst (DOTS).

And avoid trying to write about "best practices" because this is really difficult to assess, many have opinions in wildly different directions, some best practices only work in certain scenarios or don't scale or won't work well with certain game architectures or genres, and so on.

4. Noisecrime

Noisecrime

Unity has some good resources that may be useful to you.

To start with have a look at the How To section, which includes articles and ebooks. Its a long page and on mobile you may not be shown the subsection menu, so make sure to scroll all the way through it.

For specific e-books