Search Unity

Question Sorting instantiated GameObjects

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by pepperpowermax, Jan 18, 2022.

1. pepperpowermax

pepperpowermax

Hi. I'm new to Unity and I've been following a youtube card game tutorial and trying to adapt it to the game I'm trying to make.

In the tutorial, they create the "Hand" (cards for the player) from the deck of cards by instantiating a GameObject (From this "PlayerDeck" script I'm just posting what I THINK is relevant to the issue):

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    5. public class PlayerDeck : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.     public GameObject CardToHand;
    9.     void Start()
    10.     {
    11.         StartCoroutine(StartGame());
    12.     }
    13.     IEnumerator StartGame()
    14.     {
    15.         for(int i=0; i < 5; i++)
    16.         {
    17.             yield return new WaitForSeconds(0);
    18.             Instantiate(CardToHand, transform.position, transform.rotation);
    19.         }
    20.     }
    21. }
    From the scripts on that GameObject, this is the one I THINK is relevant here:

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    5. public class CardToHand : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.     public GameObject Hand;
    8.     public GameObject It;
    9.     //I ADDED THE NEXT TWO LINES
    10.     public int id;
    11.     public int index;
    13.     void Update()
    14.     {
    15.         Hand = GameObject.Find("Hand");
    16.         It.transform.SetParent(Hand.transform);
    17.         It.transform.localScale = Vector3.one;
    18.         It.transform.position = new Vector3(transform.position.x, transform.position.y, -48);
    19.         It.transform.eulerAngles = new Vector3(25, 0, 0);
    21.         //I ADDED THE NEXT LINES
    22.         ThisCard thisCard = It.GetComponent<ThisCard>();