Search Unity

Something Different : Can I use Unity to create Live Product Showcase?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by E-Samurai, Jan 16, 2012.

1. E-Samurai

E-Samurai

Hello guys,

I'm a profressional Graphic Designer and 3D Modeler, and I just heard a lot about Unity and how simple it is compared to other engines. So I would ask this straight, Can I use Unity to integrate a live product showcase "window" in my website?

For example, for turntable 360 views people often render sequential rotating camera frames of the 3D object and put them together in Java or Flash. I thought of how to make this more creative? Like why wouldn't I put a product "say a laptop" and the client can be able to open/close the screen, rotate and zoom freely, change materials, and so on?

Am I in the right place? Or this is just very unrelated to the whole thing :D Please advise me what should I do, and whether I need programming skills as I'm actually not a programmer :)

Thanks very much!!!

2. avidesk

avidesk

Yes, that is definitely possible. I think Unity would be a good solution.

3. Demigiant

Demigiant

Hey E-Samurai. Actually, you would need at least a little programming skills (though simple things can be done very simply), and using Unity to integrate a live-product window would work great, except that users should download the plugin. Thus it depends on what type of users you assume will come on the website, and if you can ignore the ones that might not have privileges to install it.

As an alternative, consider that Unity is coming out with a Flash export option, thus you should simply require Flash, which is often installed even in non-privileged users computers.

4. lilymontoute

lilymontoute

Hey, and welcome to the Unity forums!

You are very much in the right place - I've done a few visualization demos like that, and I believe there is even a turntable starter kit in the Asset Store.