Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Somebody help! Please!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ToastMasterM, Apr 27, 2007.

  1. ToastMasterM

    ToastMasterM

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Ugh, this program makes no sense! I want to create some buildings and some land for a game, but I dont know how to create objects! I tried importing a
    .lxo file from my Modo 202 3D modeling program, but it wont let me!

    Can someone tell me how to make objects in unity, and how to animate them as well?

    Please? I really want to be a game designer someday, and I want to get ahead of the game and learn how to do it now.
     
  2. Aras

    Aras

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    4,770
  3. ToastMasterM

    ToastMasterM

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Thank you very much! But is there any way at all to create objects/scenery in unity itself?

    Also, I imported it to unity (my object) but when I drag it into the scene it wont let me place it in the scene, the object icon just zooms back to the project file.

    Man, I thought this would only be moderatly difficult to do...
     
  4. Marble

    Marble

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,267
    Unity is the place to put together all your models, sounds, graphics, and stuff to make a game. The stuff you put in the game pretty much has to come from somewhere else like Modo.

    For your problem, make sure you actually exported your Modo model to FBX. It sounds like Unity just doesn't recognize it as something it can use.

    As for your ease of use issue: well, the "Make a Good Game" button is coming in Unity 2.0.
     
  5. ToastMasterM

    ToastMasterM

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Well, nothing comes free in life, except slave labor, but thats both immoral and illegal. Yeah, I'm stuck using a macintosh unfortuantely, so some of the problems I have might not apply to you, if you have a PC. Those commercials lied to me! But once I import it, how do I slap the object into a scene? When i go under project folder it appears as "untitled.fbx" with a little whit piece of paper as an Icon instead of a colored cube like the "robotragdoll" things and such.
     
  6. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,203
    Are you sure you exported your model to fbx in modo and placed that file in the assets folder?

    It sounds like you just renamed the lxo to fbx in the finder.
    Or maybe you appended another extension to the fbx file?
     
  7. ToastMasterM

    ToastMasterM

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Hmm, I dont know what you mean by "appended", but I'm relativley new to all this, so sorry if I dont understand the lingo, like "vector" or "parent object" :(

    But no, I do not believe I did put it in assest folder, so thank you.

    [edit] ummm, I opened my unity folder but i dont see any other folder named "assests" anywhere...

    [edit] ok, well I tried going into my imported objects settings and tried to re-import it but when i did, it displayed "COULDNT READ FILE/USERS/SHARED/FPS TUTORIAL/ASSETS/STANDARD ASSEST/UNTITLED.FBX"

    Any idea how to remedy this most unfortunate situation? Please, someone, hurry with an answer, I only have 15 days left on my trial version and I cant afford to buy the full version!
     
  8. David-Helgason

    David-Helgason

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,104
    Probably the best thing for you to do is to spend some time getting acquainted with Unity through the tutorials to be found here:

    http://unity3d.com/Documentation/Manual/Tutorials.html

    Also, not to be a pessimist (I rarely am), but maybe learning how to use Unity isn't the best use of your time if you can't afford it ;)

    d.
     
  9. zumwalt

    zumwalt

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Posts:
    2,287
    I got the demo of Modo, other than its a pain since I don't know the controls and the mouse wouldn't let me pan or anything, here is my 10 second object.

    Place any of the exported objects that work with unity into the assets folder, should load in just fine.

    Personally, in under 30 seconds, I already hated Modo.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Marble

    Marble

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,267
    Also, we're all using Macs of some kind, so it's very unlikely that your issue is related to that.
     
  11. AaronC

    AaronC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    3,552
    Learning to model in 3d probably comes first. Then exporting it. Use .fbx, if you can try .obj, .dxf...

    If that doesnt work, goto wings3d.com and get a good free modelling app.

    Place models in assets folder, then drag model from project window into scene...

    That work?

    As Was Said most of the early questions are answered really well in the docs. take somr time with those. I recommend the marble tut, the fps tut and scripting essentials.

    (in unity go help>Welcome Screen>"Your choice here"

    Start saving man, this stuff is addictive like crack.

    (Im not on crack guys)
    AC
     
  12. taumel

    taumel

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    5,292
    @zumwalt

    I think Modo is more for pros. If you are one you can come up with great results. If you aren't then modo can appear pretty strange and especially confuse beginners.

    But it's a capable (but not stable) software if you take a look into their gallery. http://www.luxology.com/gallery/
     
  13. ToastMasterM

    ToastMasterM

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Ok, but where is the asset folder located? I have my unity folder on my desktop, and I searched through all the folders in the unity folder and I can find no folder named "assets".

    By the way, just becasue I cant afford the full version of unity doesnt mean practicing game design isnt the best use of my time! Art is my strength so if I want to enter an industry (game design) that requires I know how to do this, I should be learning now so college wont be so confusing.

    also, thanks for the wings3D link! Too bad it doesnt work on my mac >(
     
  14. Lka

    Lka

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Posts:
    297
    You can find the assets folder with finder.
    With modo I prefer obj file format, from the file menu, click "export as", select "wavefront obj" and save the obect with "obj" extension.
     
  15. forestjohnson

    forestjohnson

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,370
    Where is your Unity project? If you don't know, create a new one and remember where it is located. The assets folder will be in Path to the project folder/project folder name/Assets.
     
  16. ToastMasterM

    ToastMasterM

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    well, that solved that, thanks!