Search Unity

Some very basic questions

Discussion in '2D' started by Ravl, Nov 14, 2013.

1. Ravl

Ravl

Hello all again,

First of all, I know these questions might sound stupid but please take a moment and try to explain me as I am a beginner.

I was waiting for 4.3 version from some time. I am trying to make a simple 2D Point and Click game. Actually I want to convert my previous games to Unity in order to learn it. I already mastered some easy tasks like reading an XML file (all my scenes/levels are in this format) and check mouse input to see if click on a sprite (from a previous entry in this forum).

But I still cannot figure it out how to load an image and assign it to a sprite... It must be a very easy task.

Question 1:
    I have my Sprite object: ImageScene and MainCamera

What should I write in my CS script to be able to load an image (jpg or png) when I do something in my game. (clicking on a particular hotspot or pressing a button). An example of a code which is changing the ImageScene sprite would be useful.

Question 2:
    How the heck is the Unity coordinate system working?
    My game resolution it's fixed (eg.: 1280 x 768 ) and I want to be able to render a sprite/image to a specific x,y position..

Thanks

2. unitylover

unitylover

You should create your sprites within Unity first. Then you'll have the ability to reference them in code. To assign game sprites in code simply create a public reference variable to your sprite, assign it in the editor, and then back in the code you'll be able to set the sprite property of your sprite renderer to the variable you created and it will load that particular sprite.

Another way would be to just create your sprites in the editor, drag them onto the scene and create prefabs from them. Then, in your code, if you want a particular sprite to appear somewhere on screen, you'll be able to instantiate the prefab either by name or use another reference variable.