Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Other Some insights on my 2D game project

Discussion in 'Projects In Progress' started by disappearer, Apr 8, 2023.

1. disappearer

disappearer

Hello everyone, what do you think about my project?
    I'm not an art designer, I'm good at making scripts, I don't understand how bad my project looks
    Please write the parts you see as poor quality(except for the background image on the map).

armor handler inspector

(this name of the tool may not be very creative but something like this was really needed)

Last edited: Apr 11, 2023
    mgear likes this.
  2. vintage-retro-indie_78

vintage-retro-indie_78

here's what think, the presentation is bland, dark, and ' generic ', there's nothing wrong with that, however you can't see the main character // understand what's going on, or the story . . .

1. try adding character sprites, or written dialogue
    2. having a story helps deliver the content // add-to-value
    3. if it's just a random dude, it looks more like random violence // gratutious stuff
    4. the SETTING is very, very important, is it some random, nowhere place, or an iconic location

here's an example of character sprites . . .

if there isn't 1. an iconic // relatable main - character, 2. a setting worth spending hours in, then there's just much less to play, or why bother . . .

try and give your main - character . . .

1. goals
    2. motives
    3. needs // resources
    4. things find important, friends, etc etc
    5. some ' stake ', or risk over being in the world