Search Unity

Some advices for beginner self-taught Game Designer?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by khiemngs, Jul 13, 2016.

1. khiemngs

khiemngs

Hi guys.

I'm a IT student, but in my country, they teach us a lot of things at very low level. So now, i can code (not good) in C#, C++, Java,.. Can make simple web with PHP, .NET, Java,... and (n) others "i don't care" things.

I love play game, and make game too. I started learn about game design couple of month ago. But i confused, what things i have to learn? what is the start point? what books should i read?

I want to teaching myseft (no game design education in my country, so sad :( ). Can you guys give me some advices?
    Btw, i want to make friends with you. Feel free to mail to me: khiemngs@gmail.com

Thank you. (and sorry for bad english). :D

2. shaderop

shaderop

I heard the following advice on some podcast that I can't remember right now, but I do remember that it was from a successful game designer. It went something like this:

If you want to become a game designer, focus on programming either UI or AI. You'll level up to designer as you gain experience.​

Don't know how true that is, but it seems to make a lot of sense.

3. AndreasU

AndreasU

Do you mean making games or specifically designing it?

Game design usually refers to coming up with the rules and interactions, numeric values etc.

If you mean making games in general, you should do the Unity tutorials: http://unity3d.com/learn

Soren Johnson (Civ 4, Offworld Trading Company) said something like this. Both subjects are closely related to the game's design.

4. khiemngs

khiemngs

Thank you guys. I don't like coding. I like work with level editor or excel with a lot number must be balanced, etc...

5. TonyLi

TonyLi

That's fine. You don't have to code, but you must understand how coding works so you can work effectively with programmers. However, you must be able to contribute to the production of a game in one of these categories: