Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] VRTK - Interacting with Object While Moving Issue

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by amanda247, Dec 1, 2016.

1. amanda247

amanda247

Hi everyone,

I am not sure if this is a bug with VRTK or just a general bug. I am new to Unity so I really appreciate any help. Thanks!

I will try to explain below what is happening but take a look at the video to get a better idea

When the car is not moving, putting my VR controller on the steering wheel will highlight it red (showing that it can then be interacted with) and I can grab/move it.

But when the car is moving, the steering wheel doesn't highlight when I place my controller on part of it. I have to reach further for it to highlight and be able to grab it. The faster the car is going, the less I am able to interact with the object until eventually it's not possible at all.

Notes:

* Steering wheel is connected to the car using a joint.
    * I've tried this with other props that are not connected to the car and same thing happens.

Other Important Notes:

* When highlighted red, the OnTriggerStay function is continually called.
    * When controller is on the object but it's on the part that doesn't highlight red it calls OnTriggerEnter continually instead of OnTriggerStay. I think it should be calling OnTriggerStay.

Is it possible to interact with objects while moving?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited: Dec 4, 2016
  2. amanda247

amanda247

I've updated the post with more important notes I've found and tried to make it more clear. Let me know if there are anymore details that are needed. Thanks!

3. FiveFingerStudios

FiveFingerStudios

It is possible to interact with objects while moving, I'm just not sure of the limits as I'm making a zombie game and don't have any fast moving objects like a car.