Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only. On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live. Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

[SOLVED] Unity Remote 5 not working

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Frisout, Feb 6, 2018.

  1. Frisout

    Frisout

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Hello,

    I've been trying to get Unity Remote 5 working for 2 hours now and it still is not doing it's job.

    The main problem I currently have is gettind Android SDK working. All the links I found online are outdated and link to the full Android Studio program, and when I download 1 line only, SDK I get a complete renewed file with no single usable program in it.

    So I just decided to go with the full Android Studio program, but now in Unity itself I simply can't find any folder in Program Files > Android Studio which it accepts as an SDK folder.

    Where am I going wrong and is anyone able to help me with this?

    Thanks in advance,
    Frisout
     
    kek0 likes this.
  2. Frisout

    Frisout

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Bump. I tried it on 2 differnt phones, both got the settings in developer mode correct. I also installed the usb driver in SDK manager, the only thing right now is that I can't set the SDK folder in Unity
     
  3. ThermodynamicsMakesMeHot

    ThermodynamicsMakesMeHot

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    224
    What do you see when you go to preferences -> External tools

    At the bottom should be where you direct it to find the folders..

    Example:
    Code (csharp):
    1. C:/Program Files (x86)/Android/android-sdk
    Dumb question but you ran -> SDKManager.exe and downloaded all the stuff you needed right / and switched to android platform in Unity?
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2018
    swastika_pallai and DFL_Testing like this.
  4. Frisout

    Frisout

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Well if you can tell me where oh where I can find SDKManager.exe that may would help a lot already. I just installed this because all the old SDK links link to this page: https://developer.android.com/studio/install.html

    And in the External Tools all I see is that it wants me to direct a folder, but it doesn't seem to accept any folder in the program files/Android as a folder it can use. Also there is no android-sdk folder in my Android folder so I may just be missing out on a certain file that I need.

    Thanks for the reply so far :)
     
  5. ThermodynamicsMakesMeHot

    ThermodynamicsMakesMeHot

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    224
    The SDKManager.exe is in the android sdk directory. Just look for where it installed androidstudio and you should see it in there somewhere.

    I never used android studio and downloaded the standalone sdk but based on what I read you can't do that anymore but there is a way but I did not try it and looks like its a batch file now.


    Down at the bottom here is where you get just the SDK
    => https://developer.android.com/studio/index.html#downloads
     
  6. Frisout

    Frisout

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Hm. well in the androidstudio folder there simply is no android sdk directory. I ran a whole search trough my entire pc yet it was not able to find it installed anywhere. Yet I'm certain that androidstudio is completly installed. What is up here?
     
  7. ThermodynamicsMakesMeHot

    ThermodynamicsMakesMeHot

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    224
    Check here:
    Code (csharp):
    1. C:\Users\YOURUSERNAME\appdata\local\android\sdk
    It might be called sdkmanager.bat now.

    Could also open up Android Studio and then select 'Settings' then => submenu: Tools -> Android -> SDK Manager
    To check the location of where it installed it, then you just tell Unity where it is.
     
    CoffeeKiehn and Frisout like this.
  8. Frisout

    Frisout

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    OOOH I totally forgot appdata was a thing :blush:
    This totally fixed it and it is now working :D

    Thank you so much for the help man!
     
  9. Asisvenia

    Asisvenia

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Posts:
    18
  10. AryamanPro

    AryamanPro

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    1 Install android SDK https://androidsdkoffline.blogspot.com/p/android-sdk-tools.html?m=1
    2 unzip the files and in the tools folder inside the main SDK folder,run android batch file.
    3 SDK manager will show up,select android SDK tools,android build tools,android platform tools,google usb driver(under extras),SDK platform and sources under the latest android version,install these packages.
    4 in the platform tools folder,open command prompt,type adb devices(make sure to connect your phone with usb debugging and developer options 'on')
    If the list displayed is null then go to
    'Install OEM usb drivers ' in google
    Download the usb driver of the os of your phone.
    5 with your phone plugged in,go to device manager under portable or other devices,right click and select update driver and then browse to the Google usb driver folder(inside your sdk folder),click next.
    6 , go through the command prompt again,if unauthorised is displayed then check your phone there must be a box '''Allow this device....." Like that, tap OK
    7 install JDK and inside unity edit>preference s>external tools browse to your sdk folder and jdk [version] folder inside JAVA folder. In my case it is inside program files,C:
    8 in project settings select any Android device option in the unity remote device drop-down.
    9 close unity,open unity remote 5 and open unity again.
    10 it should work
     
  11. Fency

    Fency

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    I really dont understand why this is so difficult. Why cant unity just install what it needs to make it work.
     
    erenaydin, Renva_, sikvar and 4 others like this.
  12. Fency

    Fency

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Ok i figured out why it was not working i think. Everytime I plug in my phone it asks me how it wants to be connected. do I just want to charge it? do I want to do file transfer? and there are about 7 different choices. I have been choosing to allow the computer to see my phone as a file transfer device. I tried to deny the allowance of file transfer this time and chose charge only and it worked. I also followed these steps specifically

    • In Unity, leave enabled the option at “Unity Remote Editor Settings> Device> Any Android Device”

    • Close Unity.

    • Open Unity Remote App on your Android device.

    • Connect your device to your computer.

    • Chose Charge Only
    • Open Unity again.
     
  13. HedgehogNSK

    HedgehogNSK

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    24
    Every time on new machine I'm trying to make unity remote works It's kind a painful quest which exhaust my soul.

    Thank you for you messages but it didn't work for me. What I've done:
    1. Install jdk and sdk using Unity Hub
    2. Set android device to developer mode.
    3. Close Unity.
    4. Connect to computer with usb.
    5. Choose charge only.
    6. Run adb devices.
    7. Open Unity

    And I did similar things about hundred times but nothing can helps me. As usually the problem will be in one ****ng toggle or something like that.
    Does anyone have more suggestions how to setup unity remote? Or maybe where to look for any connection log?
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2020
    CottonBall74, dkits and RhinoFreak like this.
  14. Dextozz

    Dextozz

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2018
    Posts:
    493
    I'm also stuck. The last time I made this work was 2 years ago and I can't get it to run ever since...
     
  15. Shadowing

    Shadowing

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Posts:
    1,657
    Just wanted to mention this worked for me. Crazy
    I didn't install any special drivers or anything.

    Did those exact steps.
     
  16. regie4233

    regie4233

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    I was having the same problem too until I stumbled upon this thread. I followed the exact steps.
     
  17. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Tried that, doesn't work...
     
  18. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    It is to not that I get the warning:
    Set-up Android SDK path to make Android remote work

    But android support is installed.
     
  19. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    OK, there is actually no sd installed in my */Unity/2019.3.12f1/Editor/Data/PlaybackEngines/AndroidPlayer\SDK

    Why is that? SHouldn't it be installed with Unity?
     
  20. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Well, f*ck this. :/

    There are actually install options under Android support in Unity install...
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    OK, still not working, this is some lame ass thing there, it used to work no problem. What has been done?!

    I need to deploy to test now :(
     
  22. hariharan-vn

    hariharan-vn

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    [working for Me ]


    So what I did is
    1. I downloaded the android version of my phone in android studio's SDK manager
    2. I copied the download location where it was installing
    3.I changed manually specify the Android SDK Tools in the Unity->Preferences>External Tools>Android(second checkbox) . to where I installed the SDK
    4.Enabled USB debugging in my phone and USB setting as connect as PTP
    5.Launched the Unity remote and played
    BOOM its working............... Thanks
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2020
    anycolourulike likes this.
  23. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    What's android studio sdk manager?

    Don't tell me I have to download Android Studio?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 16, 2020
  24. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    OK I installed android studio but when I change the sdk folder in unity to the install folder I get:
    "You are not using the recommended android sdk tools..."

    And as is it still is NOT working.

    Which folder do you have to put there?
     
  25. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Geez I eventually made it work, I have no idea how... :(

    Also, the UI is completely different than in the dev environment. :/
     
  26. terresquall

    terresquall

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Posts:
    29
  27. Dilipanator

    Dilipanator

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Posts:
    1

    Okay this definitely worked for me. Seems like the internal SDK installed with Unity 2019 version is broken. I strongly suggested downloading SDK and have Unity external tools point to it. Repeat do not use the recommended internal SDK in unity
     
  28. UMatthew

    UMatthew

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hi guys,

    I have also spent a couple of hours trying to get Unity remote to work with Unity version 2019.3.14f and I've finally got it working using the Android SDK installed via Unity Hub.

    These are the things I tried:
    1. Installed the Google USB driver as per terresquall's blog post here (thanks for your work there).
    2. Open the project in Unity goto File > Build Settings... make sure Android selected as the platform and verify you can see your connected Android device in "Run Device".
    3. Edit > Preferences > External Tools. Click "Copy Path" button under "Android SDK Tools installed with Unity". Unselect the checkbox for "Android SDK Tools installed with Unity (recommended)" and paste or browse to the path you just copied. Oddly this will result in a warning that you are not using the recommended Android SDK tools.
    4. Save and close Unity, restart your PC and Android device for good measure. Make sure your Android is still connected via USB. Start the Unity remote 5 app on your Android and load the project back up in Unity.
    5. Go back to Edit > Preferences > External Tools and check the checkbox for "Android SDK Tools installed with Unity (recommended)".
    6. Press Play on the editor and if all is going well, it will take just a little bit longer than usual to start and you should see the game viewport mirrored on your device.
    TLDR: muck around with the checkbox / path for the recommended Android SDK Tools or have it point to an externally downloaded version of the Android SDK like the other guys have suggested.

    Also if things are going well with the Unity remote app the available aspect ratios should get updated for the wider range used across mobile devices. You will want to pick an aspect that matches what you expect to see on your mobile or the screen might look skewed, especially for UI.

    Anyhow, I hope this saves someone else some time and headache.
     

    Attached Files:

  29. HectorOfPriamos

    HectorOfPriamos

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    Hey UMatthew, thanks for your post. Strangely I found many solutions for resolving Unity Remote 5 connection issues but none of them worked for me. Finally I came up with yours and frankly I tried it without faith but it worked!! Thanks man... I wish Unity would provide more information on making Remote app work. It's really a great tool but it's quiet difficult to make it work.
     
  30. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

  31. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    For info I had no problem compiling and deploying to the tablet...
     
  32. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    This issue is still not solved, unity remote 5 desperatly does NOT show the debugging app.

    Tried with a mobile phone, does the same...
     
  33. cbanacka

    cbanacka

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    been going at this for about 6 hours now and same issue for me.
    What is great is i can use the andriod logcat and get a screen capture of my phone without issue. I can see the lag and comms from the phone and unity.
    I can build and run from unity and the app auto loads the phone. But for the life of me nothing seems to get the live PLAY test to work....
     
  34. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    FYI 2020.1 came out and with it an alternative game windo allowing, apparently, to better see how the application will behave on certain devices.

    Unity Remote will stay as bad as it is so I guess it's our best bet.

    Hopefully once the app is tested we won't get any surprises on deploy.
     
  35. AnAoRong

    AnAoRong

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    If more people were like you there'd be no war. You've saved my sanity, thank you.
     
  36. rodpadev

    rodpadev

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    This worked for me thank you!! <3
     
  37. altepTest

    altepTest

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,199
    no fix provided here works, and the funny fact is that unity remote worked two months ago with the same project and device. Just did the same steps that always worked. first connect the device, open unity remote, then open the project, click play. should had worked as it always did in the past. but nope.

    building and running the project successfully builds and upload the apk to the device and it automatically opens it.

    there is a different version of unity remote maybe unity remote 2020 or something? this is an essential piece of software
     
  38. drs-mjones

    drs-mjones

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    I want to add to the chorus - this worked for me!
     
  39. varun1911

    varun1911

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I was having issues with unity remote for a week now. Finally I got it working , I'll list all the things I did.
    1) Everything was downloaded from Unity Hub , the SDK , NDK ,JDK .
    2) Go to Edit > Project settings > Editor > Device and choose any android device and set your joystick source to Remote.
    3) Now go to Edit > Preferences > External Tools > Android and make sure your SDK , JDK and NDK are setup properly.
    4) On your android device , make sure USB debugging is enabled .
    5) When you connect your device to your computer , it should be in PTP mode
    6) *IMPORTANT* Now you need to install Android Studio . Open Android Studio , go to SDK Manager > SDK Tools and install Google USB Driver.

    PS - I'm currently using Unity 2020.1.0f1
    Also , I found a video which I think covers every point that I mentioned
     
    AdemIssadWytopia and spark-man like this.
  40. altepTest

    altepTest

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,199
    ok got it working, when using the recommended JDK and ASK path, unity was wrongly using paths from a different version that was not even installed. It didn't wanted for me to manually edit the paths either. I finally fix it by opening the 2020 version of the editor and manually setting it up to 2020 paths. then finally it let me fix manually the 2019 version

    I don't know what happened but probably the 2020 messed up some setting for the versions already installed.

    go figure
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2020
  41. Epsilon_Delta

    Epsilon_Delta

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Posts:
    266
    Hello, I had the same problem and I just want to share my solution here as it is the first google result.

    Nothing was working, but this: I had to dock my "Game" tab (I usually have it floating on a second monitor) and select "Maximize on play". After this and hitting Play mode, my Unity Remote on Android was working like a charm.

    I used this solution on some previous versions too, currently I am on 2019.3.6f1
     
    GoldenChrysus likes this.
  42. BinaryByron

    BinaryByron

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    tried everything list in this thread including variations. Nothing works. Windows Unity Editor 2020.1.9f1. At this point, Unity should declare it deprecated or something and remove this junk from the Play Store for Android. FYI, Android studio (and command line) works fine, logcat, adb connect no problem. My device is also detecting in build settings etc. It's definitely an issue with the remote app or unity/unity android SDK version.

    I tried on Mac Unity 2020.1.9f1 with an iPhone. Even though Unity can see my device. Unity Remote 5 refuses to work.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 1, 2020
  43. sthealthinator

    sthealthinator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Okay I know that I'm incredibely late but this is how I did it -

    once you install the modules from unity hub itself, in the preferences > external tools > android you gotta copy the path and paste it. And at the end instead of a forward slash, there is a backward slash. You Gotta' change that.
     
  44. mruva

    mruva

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Thank you so much!!!
    I spent an hour trying to configure Unity Remote on a Redmi Note 8 Pro, until I found your post...thanks!
    edit: for me, point 4 was crucial to get things working.
     
  45. CottonBall74

    CottonBall74

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2020
    Posts:
    14

    An angle hit the spot...Thanks for that man!!!
    I wasted 1 and a half of a day trying to make REMOTE work. I read your post and it helped a lot
     
  46. Kawecki

    Kawecki

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    This one is full proof! In my case, the issue was in my device's setup where I didn't have USB debugging enabled in developer options.
     
  47. mfatihbarut

    mfatihbarut

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Posts:
    1,061
    As it
    Hi, as it is said you are an angel and you solved my problem too.
    As far as I see, my problem is also solved after changing the sdk packages' ways manually (as you explained in the second part (magic tricks))
     
  48. aporch

    aporch

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    This worked for me too.
    I changed the SDK package to my Android Studio ones, then closed Unity and checked my ADB devices,
    installed Google USB drivers with Device Manager and updated
     
  49. G-Locasso

    G-Locasso

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    After a few hours, this is what worked for me, together with the Google USB driver pointed here as well. As I could understand, seems like the default sdk path that unity 2019 provides is broken, and doing these steps solved the problem. Thanks!
     
  50. Shin_Toasty

    Shin_Toasty

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Posts:
    48
    Just adding my story to this. I didn't have to install Android Studio or the ADB to fix.

    I'm using 2019.4.9f1 on a project currently because it's an LTS release. Android device was a Moto G6 phone, don't judge me. Downloaded the Remote app onto it today; Play Store info said it was last updated Feb 1st so I was hopeful, even though the app has a 3 star rating and many angry reviews.

    I set the USB type to File Transfer on the Moto and went to Went to Edit > Preferences > External Tools in Unity and saw this:



    I noticed the JDK and SDK paths have slashes and backslashes. On SDK I clicked Copy Path, changed the slashes to backslashes in Notepad++ then pasted it in - and it still didn't work so I did the same for all the others



    even Gradle and of course restarted the remote app and Unity couple of times, as per Roy's advice. And then the remote worked. I then tried re-checking all the boxes and running it again. And it still works - and the \ and / are back exactly like the first pic.

    I didn't have to do this in 2019 when I last used the remote. I think Unity can do better. And that this post is very dull.
     
    trombonaut and Nadogeto like this.