Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on March 30, 2023, between 5 am & 1 pm EST, in the Performance Profiling Dev Blitz Day 2023 - Q&A forum and Discord where you can connect with our teams behind the Memory and CPU Profilers.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] Unable to train the example environment

Discussion in 'ML-Agents' started by Xinzz, Apr 1, 2020.

  1. Xinzz

    Xinzz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Posts:
    67
    I have closely follow the installation guide, but still when i type'mlagents-learn config/trainer_config.yaml --run-id=firstRun --train', it appears:

    D:\ml-agents-0.15.1>mlagents-learn config/trainer_config.yaml --run-id=firstRun --train
    WARNING:tensorflow:From d:\python\unityml\lib\site-packages\tensorflow_core\python\compat\v2_compat.py:65: disable_resource_variables (from tensorflow.python.ops.variable_scope) is deprecated and will be removed in a future version.
    Instructions for updating:
    non-resource variables are not supported in the long term


    ▄▄▄▓▓▓▓
    ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▓▓▓▓
    ,▄▄▄m▀▀▀' ,▓▓▓▀▓▓▄ ▓▓▓ ▓▓▌
    ▄▓▓▓▀' ▄▓▓▀ ▓▓▓ ▄▄ ▄▄ ,▄▄ ▄▄▄▄ ,▄▄ ▄▓▓▌▄ ▄▄▄ ,▄▄
    ▄▓▓▓▀ ▄▓▓▀ ▐▓▓▌ ▓▓▌ ▐▓▓ ▐▓▓▓▀▀▀▓▓▌ ▓▓▓ ▀▓▓▌▀ ^▓▓▌ ╒▓▓▌
    ▄▓▓▓▓▓▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▓▓▓ ▓▀ ▓▓▌ ▐▓▓ ▐▓▓ ▓▓▓ ▓▓▓ ▓▓▌ ▐▓▓▄ ▓▓▌
    ▀▓▓▓▓▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▓▓▄ ▓▓ ▓▓▌ ▐▓▓ ▐▓▓ ▓▓▓ ▓▓▓ ▓▓▌ ▐▓▓▐▓▓
    ^█▓▓▓ ▀▓▓▄ ▐▓▓▌ ▓▓▓▓▄▓▓▓▓ ▐▓▓ ▓▓▓ ▓▓▓ ▓▓▓▄ ▓▓▓▓`
    '▀▓▓▓▄ ^▓▓▓ ▓▓▓ └▀▀▀▀ ▀▀ ^▀▀ `▀▀ `▀▀ '▀▀ ▐▓▓▌
    ▀▀▀▀▓▄▄▄ ▓▓▓▓▓▓, ▓▓▓▓▀
    `▀█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▌
    ¬`▀▀▀█▓


    Version information:
    ml-agents: 0.15.1,
    ml-agents-envs: 0.15.1,
    Communicator API: 0.15.0,
    TensorFlow: 2.0.1
    WARNING:tensorflow:From d:\python\unityml\lib\site-packages\tensorflow_core\python\compat\v2_compat.py:65: disable_resource_variables (from tensorflow.python.ops.variable_scope) is deprecated and will be removed in a future version.
    Instructions for updating:
    non-resource variables are not supported in the long term
    Process Process-1:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "D:\Python\Python37\lib\multiprocessing\process.py", line 297, in _bootstrap
    self.run()
    File "D:\Python\Python37\lib\multiprocessing\process.py", line 99, in run
    self._target(*self._args, **self._kwargs)
    File "d:\ml-agents-0.15.1\ml-agents\mlagents\trainers\subprocess_env_manager.py", line 98, in worker
    worker_id, [shared_float_properties, engine_configuration_channel]
    File "d:\ml-agents-0.15.1\ml-agents\mlagents\trainers\learn.py", line 444, in create_unity_environment
    side_channels=side_channels,
    File "d:\ml-agents-0.15.1\ml-agents-envs\mlagents_envs\environment.py", line 143, in __init__
    aca_output = self.send_academy_parameters(rl_init_parameters_in)
    File "d:\ml-agents-0.15.1\ml-agents-envs\mlagents_envs\environment.py", line 558, in send_academy_parameters
    return self.communicator.initialize(inputs)
    File "d:\ml-agents-0.15.1\ml-agents-envs\mlagents_envs\rpc_communicator.py", line 98, in initialize
    self.poll_for_timeout()
    File "d:\ml-agents-0.15.1\ml-agents-envs\mlagents_envs\rpc_communicator.py", line 91, in poll_for_timeout
    "The Unity environment took too long to respond. Make sure that :\n"
    mlagents_envs.exception.UnityTimeOutException: The Unity environment took too long to respond. Make sure that :
    The environment does not need user interaction to launch
    The Agents are linked to the appropriate Brains
    The environment and the Python interface have compatible versions.
    2020-04-01 21:45:14 INFO [trainer_controller.py:104] Learning was interrupted. Please wait while the graph is generated.
    2020-04-01 21:45:14 INFO [trainer_controller.py:100] Saved Model
    2020-04-01 21:45:14 WARNING [learn.py:343] Unable to save to ./summaries/firstRun_timers.json. Make sure the directory exists

    In unity editor, shows 'Couldn't connect to trainer on port 5004 using API version 0.15.0.'

    any helps please? Thanks
     
  2. Xinzz

    Xinzz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Posts:
    67
    Never mind, problem solved, the 0.15.0 communicator api has problem, i solved it by downgrading to 0.14.1.
     
  3. nmtrox

    nmtrox

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    How were you able to downgrade just the communicator api?
     
  4. Xinzz

    Xinzz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Posts:
    67