Search Unity

[SOLVED] Standard assets gives too many errors in new versions

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by BrewNCode, Jan 25, 2019.

  1. BrewNCode

    BrewNCode

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Posts:
    369
    Hello, people who know all. I have a problem that is bugging me THE HELL UP. I have Unity 2018.2 And now in the new versions, I have to get the standard assets out from the Asset Store. Well, when I import the assets that I need (I imported Characters, Utility, and CrossPlatofrmInput assets) I got too many errors.

    Why is that That I need to restart the project to make those errors go away?
     
    GuardianArchangelJohn and fxshot like this.
  2. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    7,458
    This is probably why they are working on a new standard assets package last I checked. Why you are getting the errors would depend on what exactly the errors are, which you haven't mentioned.

    In my experience you should never import the entire standard assets package, it is full of mostly stuff you won't use. Only import exactly what you need from it, which is often next to nothing.
     
    Homicide likes this.
  3. BrewNCode

    BrewNCode

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Posts:
    369
    when you say to import just the necessary, you mean importing - for instance- Only the ThirdCharacterController prefab?
     
  4. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    7,458
    If that is all you want out of it, yeah the prefab and any scripts it may need. Generally with the standard assets you're going to want to replace them with stuff you write yourself that fits better with your game anyways. Though they can be useful for prototyping or throwing together just something really quick.
     
    BrewNCode likes this.
  5. BrewNCode

    BrewNCode

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Posts:
    369
    Thank you for the answer.
     
  6. BrewNCode

    BrewNCode

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Posts:
    369
    UPDATE: I just found the perfect solution for this. I just downloaded the 2017 version. Problem solved.
     
    Joe-Censored likes this.
  7. Taintedangel

    Taintedangel

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Welcome to unity!! I had this on 2017, 2018. I couldn't complete a project so I quit using it for now. Hopefully it will be fixed soon. I was getting errors in an empty scene. Cleared caches.. nothing worked. I'm bummed but hopefully they'll get it working soon cause I like unity.
     
  8. Mysterious_Soul123

    Mysterious_Soul123

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    2019 same errors for me.
     
  9. hypernaturalgames

    hypernaturalgames

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Package contains this description:

    "Package has been submitted using Unity 5.0.0, 5.1.4, 5.2.4, 5.3.1, 5.4.2, 5.5.0, 5.6.0, 2017.1.0, 2017.3.0, and 2017.3.1 to improve compatibility with the range of these versions of Unity"

    So I guess it would be wise to use it on a 2017.3 at most. I'm trying now on a 2019.1 and I'm having some issues with the Car AI control.
     
  10. unitybetawevoO

    unitybetawevoO

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    same errors guys how to solve
     
  11. Ryan-Alexandre

    Ryan-Alexandre

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I installed the 32-bit version of unity, and when I install the standard assets, the scripts don't work, it says the script has errors, but they are factory what I do.
     
  12. unity_Wo5F3NBiP65jPA

    unity_Wo5F3NBiP65jPA

    Joined:
    May 26, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Same problems here with Car package. Tried to fix by hand but it's simply a time waste.
     
  13. AndrewSeyderhelm

    AndrewSeyderhelm

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I am also getting errors with standard assets

    I just installed 2019.3 and added the standard assets. When I do that the game breaks and won't run due to compile errors. If I limit the install to ONLY the FPS controller is says it is missing items relating to head Bob etc. which causes even more errors. I have attached a screenshot of the errors.

    upload_2020-2-3_17-6-7.png
     
  14. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    15,156
    Unity's Standard Assets have been abandoned. We've been told that they're looking into replacing them but the last we heard of it was more than a year ago. Until then I recommend using them for learning purposes and building your own based off of that. To make them work you will need to use Unity 2018.
     
  15. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    5,013
    Also, a lot of assets have version specific packages. So if you ever upgrade, then import a package and it gives you errors, the first thing to do is to force it to download again in the asset manager, even if it doesn't say there is a new version out there.
     
  16. BrewNCode

    BrewNCode

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Posts:
    369
    Yeah, if you want to use the Unity standard assets, you need to use Unity 2017 or older versions.
     
  17. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    15,156
    Just going to mention that I was able to import the Standard Assets into Unity 2019.3, and everything aside from the Car ran without any trouble. The Car required modifying a couple of scripts that were trying to create a GUIText. Removing all references to that completely fixed it.

    At a glance the majority of the warnings and errors (aka everything but the ones involving the Car) are entirely focused around the shaders in the pack. You can safely ignore all of them because long term you won't be using any of them.

    Edit: I've posted corrected scripts at the link below.

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/sta...now-what-you-think.516595/page-4#post-5458527
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2020
    loksh and BrewNCode like this.
unityunity