Search Unity

[SOLVED] Standard assets gives too many errors in new versions

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by BrewNCode, Jan 25, 2019.

  1. BrewNCode

    BrewNCode

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Posts:
    358
    Hello, people who know all. I have a problem that is bugging me THE HELL UP. I have Unity 2018.2 And now in the new versions, I have to get the standard assets out from the Asset Store. Well, when I import the assets that I need (I imported Characters, Utility, and CrossPlatofrmInput assets) I got too many errors.

    Why is that That I need to restart the project to make those errors go away?
     
    fxshot likes this.
  2. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    6,268
    This is probably why they are working on a new standard assets package last I checked. Why you are getting the errors would depend on what exactly the errors are, which you haven't mentioned.

    In my experience you should never import the entire standard assets package, it is full of mostly stuff you won't use. Only import exactly what you need from it, which is often next to nothing.
     
    Homicide likes this.
  3. BrewNCode

    BrewNCode

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Posts:
    358
    when you say to import just the necessary, you mean importing - for instance- Only the ThirdCharacterController prefab?
     
  4. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    6,268
    If that is all you want out of it, yeah the prefab and any scripts it may need. Generally with the standard assets you're going to want to replace them with stuff you write yourself that fits better with your game anyways. Though they can be useful for prototyping or throwing together just something really quick.
     
    BrewNCode likes this.
  5. BrewNCode

    BrewNCode

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Posts:
    358
    Thank you for the answer.
     
  6. BrewNCode

    BrewNCode

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Posts:
    358
    UPDATE: I just found the perfect solution for this. I just downloaded the 2017 version. Problem solved.
     
    Joe-Censored likes this.
  7. Taintedangel

    Taintedangel

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Welcome to unity!! I had this on 2017, 2018. I couldn't complete a project so I quit using it for now. Hopefully it will be fixed soon. I was getting errors in an empty scene. Cleared caches.. nothing worked. I'm bummed but hopefully they'll get it working soon cause I like unity.
     
  8. Mysterious_Soul123

    Mysterious_Soul123

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    2019 same errors for me.
     
  9. hypernaturalgames

    hypernaturalgames

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Package contains this description:

    "Package has been submitted using Unity 5.0.0, 5.1.4, 5.2.4, 5.3.1, 5.4.2, 5.5.0, 5.6.0, 2017.1.0, 2017.3.0, and 2017.3.1 to improve compatibility with the range of these versions of Unity"

    So I guess it would be wise to use it on a 2017.3 at most. I'm trying now on a 2019.1 and I'm having some issues with the Car AI control.
     
  10. unitybetawevoO

    unitybetawevoO

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    same errors guys how to solve