Search Unity

  1. The 2022.1 beta is now available for testing. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2022.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

SOLVED: Serial Key invalid, but it's not

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by GenghisMike, Dec 30, 2015.

?

Assessment of my situation

  1. Yer screwed!

  2. Don't whine, so much ... go outside

  3. Just wait and it'll fix itself

  4. Restart your computer four or five times

  5. You clearly have a Serial Key from Thailand

Multiple votes are allowed.
Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. GenghisMike

    GenghisMike

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Sorry, folks, but I'm super frustrated. It seems the primary task of Unity Editor lately is to ask me for my Serial Key.

    This morning after entering my Unity 5 Pro Serial Key, the editor responds that it's invalid. I copied it right off the website where it clearly says that it's valid through February 2016 (when it'll validate through March, etc.)

    I can't do the Manual Activation, because I'm not given the option, since I have Internet access.

    So ... I tried going to Personal Edition, and it sits and churns.

    It could be that the License Server is down, but there's no way to tell.

    I emailed support and their response was "Yeah, we'll get back to you within 5 days". Five days ... for a paid subscription problem?!?

    Thanks for any ideas? I'm at a complete work stop.
     
    AppEmpire likes this.
  2. Dantus

    Dantus

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Posts:
    5,667
    Here are the guidelines for activating Unity. There is also an email address for further assistance:
    https://unity3d.com/unity/activation

    This is the place where you should ask and not here in the forum. And no kind of multiple choice will help you either :)
     
  3. GenghisMike

    GenghisMike

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    That's where I looked, but there's no solution for an invalid serial key ... that IS, in fact, valid.

    Yeeeeah, the multiple choice was an attempt at humor to help me smile through the pain.

    Any other suggestions to fix this?
     
  4. GenghisMike

    GenghisMike

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Here's a capture of the Subscriptions and Activations screens.

    Everything appears to be in order ...
     

    Attached Files:

  5. GenghisMike

    GenghisMike

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Uh ... okay ... soooo ... it's working now ...

    It *appears* to have been a License Server thing.

    Pro Tip for Unity: Allow public access to License Server status. If I saw that the License Server was down, I would've just waited.
     
  6. Fissll

    Fissll

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    70
    Any idea on when the server will be running again?
    I have the same problem with the personal edition.
    Win 10 updated yesterday and now I can't work on my projects anymore.
    Wouldn't it be easier to have an offline mode?
     
  7. GenghisMike

    GenghisMike

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    It just came up for me, so it could be just a bottleneck issue. I think most of the Western world got their Win10 updated yesterday. Now, everyone has to re-authenticate their keys.
     
    Dantus and Fissll like this.
  8. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    28,389
    Yep a windows update broke the hell out of it for me. I was fairly enraged as expected, then I made a cup of tea and all was well again (after disgruntled fiddling). DRM much, Unity? :p
     
  9. Fissll

    Fissll

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    70
    It's still not working for me :(
    Did you do anything special or did you just wait?
     
  10. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    28,389
  11. Fissll

    Fissll

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    70
    Well, that's where I am stuck. Unity shows me the message "Updating License" but nothing happens.
     
  12. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    28,389
    Bugger then. I'll try to get some staff involved.

    I do dimly recall someone was able to just delete the licensing folders and reinstall Unity and all was well, but this is fairly grotesque and I don't recommend it. Has anyone contacted support@unity3d.com ?
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2015
    Dantus likes this.
  13. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
    Let's get this resolved asap. Late to this party I need you to respond with
    1. Did your Windows10 update?
    2. Have you tried deleting your .ulf?
    3. Try that
    Use Search to "Show Hidden Folders" and click apply, Start Run, Browse to C:\ProgramData\Unity, Delete Unity_v5.x.ulf NOTE This is the default install location.
    4. If you are still having issues ping me with @holliebuckets :)

    We did have our web services go down around 6 am PST. Your difficulties may be related to the server coming back online but let's try this too :)

    @Fissll @GenghisMike (cc: @hippocoder )
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2015
    hippocoder likes this.
  14. Fissll

    Fissll

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    70
    @holliebuckets
    1. Yes it happened last night.
    2. & 3. I can't seem to find the .ulf :(

    Above is my Unity folder under ProgramData. The two folders are empty by the way.
     
  15. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
    oh! I forget to say you have to "Show hidden folders" Editing that now :)
     
    hippocoder likes this.
  16. Fissll

    Fissll

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    70
    "Show hidden folders" is enabled @holliebuckets ... otherwise I wouldn't be able to open ProgramData would I? ;)
     
  17. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
    lol, well true. I just want to confirm you are going in from Run?
    the .ulf is a registry file
     
    hippocoder likes this.
  18. Fissll

    Fissll

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    70
    @holliebuckets can you please explain what you mean with "going in from Run"?
    When you said I should check ProgramData, I opened the explorer.
    But when when you say it is a registry file I guess I have to open regedit but there is obviously no ProgramData.
    I am really confused :(
     
  19. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
    @Fissll I'm so sorry. I have a massive headcold and words are difficult for me today. Let's just try a gif:

     
  20. Fissll

    Fissll

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    70
    @holliebuckets I'm sorry that you're ill. Here ... let me also help you with a gif:

    As you can see there is no .ulf (I still don't even know what this file even is) and I am wondering if you open the explorer this way every time since nothing changes except that you will first be in the AppData folder. It has nothing to do with seeing hidden files or anything like that. You can just open the explorer like everyone else.
     
  21. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
    @Fissll this has turned out to be incredibly interesting!
    I'm pinging support directly. I have a hunch but want to hear back from them first. Thank you so much for working with me on this. I want to get you up and going as fast as possible.
     
  22. Fissll

    Fissll

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    70
    Thank you for your help :)
     
    holliebuckets likes this.
  23. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
    Fissll likes this.
  24. Fissll

    Fissll

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    70
    Oh finally! Thank you very much. It works now :D
     
    holliebuckets likes this.
  25. GenghisMike

    GenghisMike

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    @holliebuckets Hey, Hollie ... I got mine working without doing anything except "trying it again ... and again ... and ..."

    ... but I feel super happy about this thread! I now know how to delete my .ulf

    Like @hippocoder, I'm feeling much better ... rage has subsided.

    Thanks!
     
    hippocoder and holliebuckets like this.
  26. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
    YEAY!!!!!!!

    Apparently, when Windows 10 updated it altered your regex and deleted it. Without a license file, it can't check against itself and will come up invalid. If you ever run into the same issue, it's probably that ^_^
     
    Fissll likes this.
  27. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    28,389
    Probably Unity should get talking with whatever DRM middleware it uses, and microsoft. If people have to go through this once for a normal, and common update, especially one that just does it when you shut down, then it'll happen again.
     
unityunity