Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] Object Jumps to New Position When Implementing Script

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by trlewi, Nov 27, 2017.

1. trlewi

trlewi

So I am fairly new to C# and Unity and working on a little starter project. So I have this simple script that I put together to drag an object across the screen (on the x axis only) which I have gotten to work.

But I do have this one issue I just can't figure out. I press run and the first click on the object causes the object to jump to a new position a bit lower on the x axis than it's original position. What am i doing wrong!?
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public class DragScript : MonoBehaviour {
    4.     public float distance = 10;
    5.     public float yPosition = 1f;
    7.     void OnMouseDrag() {
    8.         Vector3 mousePosition = new Vector3 (Input.mousePosition.x, yPosition, distance);
    9.         Vector3 objPosition = Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint (mousePosition);
    11.         transform.position = objPosition;
    12.     }
    13. }

2. QuinnWinters

QuinnWinters

Try this:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public class Drag : MonoBehaviour {
    3.     float distance = 10;
    4.     float yPosition = 1f;
    6.     void OnMouseDrag() {
    8.         //Calculate any difference between the objects world position and the mouses Screen position converted to a world point
    9.         Vector3 offset = transform.position - Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint (new Vector3 (Input.mousePosition.x, Input.mousePosition.y, 0));
    10.         //Keep track of the mouse position
    11.         Vector3 curScreenPoint = new Vector3 (Input.mousePosition.x, Input.mousePosition.y, distance);
    12.         //Convert the screen mouse position to world point and adjust with offset