Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Question [solved] Line renderer thickness

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by BrandStone, Sep 8, 2020.

  1. BrandStone

    BrandStone

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    79
    I've created a laser beam using the line renderer and the only thing I couldn't find is how to make it look bigger. My camera is far away (a table-top perspective of Z: -520) and the line renderer is at Z 0.

    I have a nice shader on it that looks great from up close, not sure how relevant this information is.

    Just look how tiny this thing is:
    upload_2020-9-8_8-53-52.png

    I searched and searched, couldn't find any answer to this. Is there any way to increase its thickness?
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2020
    paulygons likes this.
  2. bgolus

    bgolus

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Posts:
    12,396
    Try the huge graph in the middle of the component labeled “width”.

    (Also while I’m being slightly snarky, I too somehow miss that thing every time I go back to the built in line renderer.)
     
  3. BrandStone

    BrandStone

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    79
    I did try it, It’s set to 1 and it seems it’s the max value i can set unless i missed something.
     
  4. BrandStone

    BrandStone

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    79
    I edit the key to 10:
    upload_2020-9-9_8-58-29.png

    Then after I press enter it stays at 1
     
    paulygons likes this.
  5. bgolus

    bgolus

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Posts:
    12,396
    Change this "one".
    upload_2020-9-8_23-1-6.png
     
  6. bgolus

    bgolus

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Posts:
    12,396
    The points on that graph are normalized between a time of 0.0 and 1.0, and a relative scale of 0.0 and 1.0. However the absolute scale is set by the value in the top left there.
     
  7. BrandStone

    BrandStone

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    79
    Ha, no wonder I couldn't find it :) It's indeed really hard to spot. This made my day! Thank you so much for your help!
     
    Zorolias likes this.
  8. msafyanali123

    msafyanali123

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    you you drag the width and increase its value for 0.1 to as you can
     

    Attached Files:

    Rachan and mauricioweber like this.
  9. awsapps

    awsapps

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2021
    Posts:
    74
    Wow, that was a tricky one, thank you so much, I think I'll never spot it!
     
    mauricioweber, Wuffles and Zorolias like this.
  10. Rachan

    Rachan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    805
    Thank you very much!!!