Search Unity

[SOLVED] Issue when Multiple Scripts reference same Variable?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Ziddeth, Aug 29, 2018.

1. Ziddeth

Ziddeth

Hi, I'm new at Unity and learning how to script. I've been successfully following a few tutorials and running into an issue that I can't really find an answer for at the moment.

In one of the videos I watched, I was able to follow along and create a working script that allowed Player and NPC movement across Tiles in a Tactical game setting. In another tutorial, I was also able to create a working Tile Editor that can be accessed through the Inspector Window. Both work, but there is a problem when trying to implement both in the same Project..

The Tactical script references the variable "Tile" for Height, Distance, and other A* properties.
    The Editor script references "Tile" for Growing and Shrinking selections within the Inspector Window.

Tactical snippet
    Code (CSharp):
    1.     //Needed for BFS (breadth first search)
    2.     public bool visited = false;
    3.     public Tile parent = null;
    4.     public int distance = 0;
    Editor snippet
    Code (CSharp):
    1.     [HideInInspector] public Tile prev;
    2.     [HideInInspector] public int distance;
    4.     public void Grow()
    Both scripts define the "Tile" variable, and reference it across their methods in different ways. This is causing both scripts to break when placed in the same project. I don't think I can switch them from Public to Private because both Tactical and Editor scripts rely on a few other scripts referencing them in order to work.. Or if I can switch some to Private, I wouldn't know specifically which to do. Is there a way to manage similarly named variables to work separately of each other?

TL;DR, How do I get two Scripts that work independently to work together if they reference similar variables for different purposes?

2. kru

kru