Search Unity

[Solved] Is Unity capable of smoothly hosting up to ~5,000 concurrent players?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by MithrilDice, Mar 1, 2018.

1. MithrilDice

MithrilDice

I'm an aspiring programmer currently doing this as a hobby. However, my end-game goal would be to create a multiplayer RPG. I want to make sure that the time and effort I put into learning Unity and C# will help lead me to my goal. I know that even if Unity isn't what I'm looking for, I will still pick up useful skills that will stay with me if I end up ditching the software. However, I'd like to stay. I haven't heard of too many multiplayer games being made with Unity, so I figured I'd come here and ask.

2. LaneFox

LaneFox

Multiplayer games raise development difficulty and time investment significantly. As a beginner you should probably avoid a multiplayer rpg on your first try. Use the learn section to learn the basics and go from there. The button is on the website header.

3. MithrilDice

MithrilDice

Thanks for your reply. This is my end-game goal (many years down the road). I just want to gauge Unity's capabilities for such a project.

4. LaneFox

LaneFox

Given how long it would take you to actually make that, Unity may not even exist by then.

5. MithrilDice

MithrilDice

Entirely avoiding my question ;)

6. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Unity itself is capable of maintaining 5k connections, including the built in UNet networking API as well as other 3rd party offerings. Most likely though you're going to be continually sending updates and taking commands from all those connected users, which will be too much for a single server instance to handle much lower than 5k users even on high end hardware.