Search Unity

[SOLVED] How do I Get C# Variable from JS Script?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ChrisIsAwesome, Jul 25, 2017.

1. ChrisIsAwesome

ChrisIsAwesome

I'm using 5.6.1f1

So I have an object that has a C# script and a JS script on it (because some things are easier to code in C# while others can be easier in JS). However, I have run into an issue where you can't reference a 2nd script on an object.

Script 1 name is "ballControlCS"
    Script 2 name is "ballControlJS"

The error is with this code:
    Code (JavaScript):
    1. hasBeenPressed = ball.GetComponent (ballControlCS).hasBeenPressed;
    I get a console error saying:

BCE0005: Unknown identifier: 'ballControlCS'.

I don't understand. I can reference the ballControlJS script just fine, but referencing ballControlCS is impossible. Is this a known bug or am I just oblivious to the obvious?

PS: Might be a C# issue since I'm a C# newbie and have had issues before with referencing a C# script from JS.

-- Chris

2. ChrisIsAwesome

ChrisIsAwesome

EDIT: I have found that components from different languages cannot be seen by another language (ie. C# variable can't be recognized by a JS script, vice versa).

So the question now is how do I get a C# variable from a JS script?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

You can reference components of a different language, but the two languages are not compiled at the same time so can't talk in both directions. You can though have 1 way communication by manipulating the compile order of your scripts.

https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/ScriptCompileOrderFolders.html

It would be highly recommended though to just standardize around a single language (cough cough.... C#) to avoid these kinds of problems.

4. Brathnann

Brathnann

5. orb

orb

Did somebody order coffin nails?