Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question [SOLVED] How can I change a colour of certain particles?

Discussion in 'Visual Effect Graph' started by SadShadyBoi, Dec 22, 2022.

1. SadShadyBoi

SadShadyBoi

Hi! I am very new to VFX Graph and I've been playing around with it lately.

I have a VFX Graph which displays particles in specified locations (via raycast and the locations are stored on a texture2d via colors). Right now I have a simple gradient that will change the color of particles based on the distance form the player.

My question is: Is there a way to specify which gradient a certain particle can use depending on an object hit?

For example: If my raycast hits an object with the tag "Environment" it will use Gradient A but if I hit an object with the tag "Enemy" it will use Gradient B?

I've tried using Events and different attributes but nothing worked so far.

Thank you for any help.

2. mk4blogging

mk4blogging

When a particle system has multiple colors, each color is assigned a color scheme. To change the color of a particular particle, you must first make sure that you’re viewing the color scheme you’re interested in in the particle system view, as seen in the figure below. Once the color scheme is selected, double-click a particle in the particle system to select it. A pop-up menu will appear, as shown in the image below. Select the desired color from the list, and click OK. For more information visit us.

Last edited: Dec 27, 2022
  3. SadShadyBoi

SadShadyBoi

I'm not sure if i understand what you mean. You cannot select one particle from a system in editor. And even if I do not wish for a manual solution.

I'm aiming for a solution during runtime that will automatically change the gradient particles will use based on the object tag a raycast has hit.

4. Qriva

Qriva