Search Unity

[Solved] FPS of Android build with 2017.3

Discussion in 'Android' started by ifurkend, Dec 15, 2017.

  1. ifurkend

    ifurkend

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Posts:
    350
    I am using HUDFPS script from Unity wiki to display FPS in my builds. My game generally maintains 60 FPS if it's built by 2017.1 or earlier versions (5.6). After switching to 2017.3, I tried to keep all the setting close to previous editors as much as possible, but the result is always capped at 30 FPS. I have even disabled V-sync for all quality levels but it doesn't help at all.

    Edit: Case closed with Application.targetFrameRate = 60;
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2017
  2. derkoi

    derkoi

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,260
    Just found this myself, taken from the targetFrameRate Unity 2017.3 docs

     
  3. Hoorza

    Hoorza

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    45
    Hmm, that explains a lot. You could go to 60 max on mobile previously is it not? I remember running my previous game on more than 30 for sure. Can that be bypassed somehow?
     
  4. derkoi

    derkoi

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,260
    Use Application.targetFrameRate = 60;
     
  5. LOSTSOUL86

    LOSTSOUL86

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    Hi I have a related question. My project was made in unity 5. The vsync was off. The game on android on my phone was running 60fps. But I never set it in the code... when moved to unity 2017 game is running with 30fps with vsync off same settings. I just wonder where in unity 5 the fps settings were set to run at 60fps. I will put Application.targetFrameRate = 60 now in my code to make it running with 60. I just wondered why in unity 5 it exported the game always with 60fps and unity 2016 with 30 fps.
     
  6. Hoorza

    Hoorza

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    45
    I think it depends on either of the hardware or android version. I know it was capped at 30FPS for the android phones, at least the ones I have tested apps on. But my Android tablet can run at 60FPS. Did you change hardware @LOSTSOUL86 ?