Search Unity

[SOLVED] Everything is Pink!

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by TheGejr, Jan 16, 2015.

  1. TheGejr

    TheGejr

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    So i just imported some things from the asset store and, everything is pink. If i zoom out it turns normal, but whe i zoom in again everything turns pink again. I have uploaded a picture with it. Udklip.PNG

    #EDIT 1
    I found out i makes 3 errors i just don't know how to fix it. the following errors is this:

    (RED !) shader error in 'Hidden/TerrainEngien/Splatmap/Lightmap-FirstPass': 'vert': output parameter 'o' not completely initialized at line 44

    (YELLOW !) shader error in 'Hidden/TerrainEngien/Splatmap/Lightmap-FirstPass': 'distance': implicit truncation of vector type at line 57

    (YELLOW !) shader error in 'Hidden/TerrainEngien/Splatmap/Lightmap-FirstPass': implicit truncation of vector type at line 76

    I also found out it's the shaderclass in ATS Colormap that is doing it. The file name is TerrainReplacementColorMap_noiftexturefetch
    I can post the lines that makes the problems is you guys need them?
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2015
  2. TheGejr

    TheGejr

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    I found the solution to the problem. in my terrain it removed the material so i just added the default-defuse material and it removed the pink!
     
  3. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,871
    That issue there means that the DX11 renderer is being used, and for some reason, one of the parameters in whatever shader pack (or terrain pack, of which some do include their own shaders) that you downloaded isn't initialized like it should be for a DX11 shader.

    I can help fix it up if you like. just post the problem shader here, and I will figure out what value inside it is causing issues. (Probably a coding shortcut that works in DX9, but not DX11... :D)
     
  4. Javerwocky_lester

    Javerwocky_lester

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    all assets coming from the asset store was pink so what i did was to change the profile of the graphics into none and we all live happily ever after
     
    EtherealRegions likes this.
  5. BaileyVillipart1

    BaileyVillipart1

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hey, being that you replied to this fairly recently, I figured I'd ask you for help. I just imported an asset package and everything (including materials, prefabs, and models etc etc were all pink.) How did you go about changing the profile of the graphics to make this go away? I tried changing the shader to lightweight pipeline and that option isn't even available to choose from. Any suggestions? Thanks
     
    unity_KpeGWh7GPxijVg likes this.
  6. Bilgisoft

    Bilgisoft

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    I solved this problem with 2 step.

    1- Project Settings/ Graphics --> Reset (in top of inspector)
    2- Add Sprites/Diffuse in Always Included Shaders manuel.
     
  7. east-bay-eff

    east-bay-eff

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Posting on a necro since none of those solutions worked for me.

    If your project is a new Universal Project Template, and you import 3D model assets, then the shaders likely don't know how to handle the "old / legacy" materials. As a result, all your models look pink. I don't really know *why* it doesn't work, but I'm sure someone will post a correction to my post (instead of having just answered the problem to begin with).

    This worked for me:
    Edit > Render Pipeline > Universal Render Pipeline > [choose what you want, likely upgrade the project]

    I put the details into a blog post:
    http://lateinlifegames.com/pages/why-are-my-models-pink.html
     
  8. Excaliber_Bruh

    Excaliber_Bruh

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    a quick way to fix that is to make/find a good material and apply that to the object that is pink
     
    vertexx and BrandyStarbrite like this.
  9. didiscott

    didiscott

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    You are the absolute BEST!!! Thank you.
     
    FancyACuppa and brunoamoliveira like this.
  10. BrandyStarbrite

    BrandyStarbrite

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Posts:
    2,076
  11. richardgengle

    richardgengle

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    ====
    this led me in the right direction; but my modifications are:
    PROJECT SETTINGS/ GRAPHICS -
    - and the first menu item there is SCRIPTABLE RENDERER PIPELINE SETTINGS.
    --- select the project you just downloaded,
     
    lillasomn, SPAC3R4IDR and cmd-k33n like this.
  12. mastarezma

    mastarezma

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    thank you ! it worked !!
     
  13. unity_KpeGWh7GPxijVg

    unity_KpeGWh7GPxijVg

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you kind sir.
     
  14. noahsArk101

    noahsArk101

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    This did the trick for me! Thanks so much
     
  15. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Where is the Universal pipeline in 2020.1?
     
  16. SD2000000

    SD2000000

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    My question exacty
     
  17. TheKindOfCoolDev

    TheKindOfCoolDev

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    You can also switch the shader to Unlit/Texture. This will fix the problem.
     
    cheetahpaw9 and levchishin28 like this.
  18. cheemslooma

    cheemslooma

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Edit > Rendering > Materials > Convert Selected Built-In Materials to URP
     
    rivasmig and GabNu29 like this.
  19. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,871
    My guy, this is at LEAST a 7 year old thread.
    Also that is not a solution for everyone; some people can and do make do with the Built-in Render Pipeline. URP often requires reworking significant amounts of a project otherwise built around the Built-in Render Pipeline.
     
  20. InfernoRougue3

    InfernoRougue3

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    For me, everything in my project was pink.

    I was able to solve this by going to Edit -> Project Settings -> Quality -> and then selecting a Render Pipeline Asset. cause mine was somehow set to None.
     
    sravanthreddyjanga likes this.
  21. sbem93

    sbem93

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Edit > Project Settings > Graphics
    first option up the top should be Scriptable Render Pipeline Settings
    Click the circle to select an option, import the StarterAssetsURPAsset (Universal Render Pipeline Asset)

    Everything will then be the correct colour.
     
  22. rivasmig

    rivasmig

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    This one works i think if you started by using a template or something. I started with an FPS template, and then tried to include unity store assets but all the materials were pink. this solution worked for me