Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved]Creating a similar input to Input.GetKeyDown

Discussion in 'Input System' started by AnimatorOfTheYear, Apr 8, 2020.

1. AnimatorOfTheYear

AnimatorOfTheYear

Hello, i am relatively new to Unity's new Input System as it is my 3rd time using this system. I have been trying to rack my head around getting a specific type of input down for a game that i am working on but i cant get it to work.

The input i desire is similar to Input.GetKeyDown, where the input only sets itself true upon pressing a button once. I have searched around the internet for some reference with no luck.

I have tried using the context.started boolean but that does nothing.
    I have also tried using the Interactions menu in the InputMenu which also does nothing.

Does anyone have any good implementations or ideas as to how to get about creating this behaivour?

2. Fenrisul

Fenrisul

You have some choices!

If you truly just want Keys, rather than actions:

Keyboard.current[KeyCode.Space].wasPressedThisFrame

Is one :)

hms0589, john79, normed and 5 others like this.
  3. AnimatorOfTheYear

AnimatorOfTheYear

Oh, didn't know it was an option. Maybe i will use this in the future.
    However, I am using a Input Actions asset for most of my inputs since it helps my colleagues with setting inputs without any hassle.

4. AnimatorOfTheYear

AnimatorOfTheYear