Search Unity

[Solved] CopyFile Failed

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by tomchambers, Jan 9, 2020.

  1. tomchambers

    tomchambers

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    I'm getting this error when trying to upload a fresh (quite large) existing project to unity collab.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. [Collab] CopyFile failed:
    2. From path: 'C:/Users/Tom/Documents/hospital-unity/Assets/NatureManufacture Assets/Meadow Environment Dynamic Nature/Terrain heightmaps and Stamps/Terrain RAW Heightmaps/NM_Meadow_Hill_Border_04_Raw.raw', To path: 'C:/Users/Tom/Documents/hospital-unity/Temp/Upload/Assets/NatureManufacture Assets/Meadow Environment Dynamic Nature/Terrain heightmaps and Stamps/Terrain RAW Heightmaps/NM_Meadow_Hill_Border_04_Raw.raw'
    There was another file in Gaia that had the same error, I removed that file and then I got another one like this.

    I've tried removing the Collab snapshots and restarting but it made no difference.
     
  2. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    1,758
    Hi @tomchambers, this looks like an issue of the file path where Collab's copy of a file made during an upload being too long for the Windows OS. I would recommend renaming some of the folders in this asset's file path to something shorter. After doing that then the CopyFile errors should disappear.
     
  3. tomchambers

    tomchambers

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    Code (CSharp):
    1. [Collab] CopyFile failed:
    2. From path: 'C:/Users/Tom/Documents/hospital-unity/Assets/Sounds/wateringplants.mp3', To path: 'C:/Users/Tom/Documents/hospital-unity/Temp/Upload/Assets/Sounds/wateringplants.mp3'
    I'm still getting similar errors with copyfile with a relatively short path. The path being copied to is only 82 characters long here.
     
  4. tomchambers

    tomchambers

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    I'm not sure if it was the same error or additional, but from researching other topics it seems I had run out of disk space
     
  5. BrettusTheLettus

    BrettusTheLettus

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    Posts:
    15
    I had a similar issue and restarted my editor. It seems to be upload now. I also freed up some more memory in case that was an issue.
     
unityunity