Search Unity

[SOLVED] Cinemachine 2D when warping to a new tilemap (bounding box)

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by VEWO, Apr 8, 2018.

1. VEWO

VEWO

Hi!

I'm fairly new to game development so please bare with me...I'm developing a 2D tilemap based game (using Unity's new tilemap features). When I "swap" maps I basically destroy the current map and load the new one. Each map has it's own bounding box (a polygon collider) to bound the virtual camera. I only have one virtual camera that follows the player.

My problem is: when I swap maps, I can see that the polygon collider from the Cinemachine Confiner component updates correctly. However, the camera goes out of bounds and if I move the player to a certain point the scene turns blue and sometimes it follows the player and some other times it doesnt.

The camera works well on the first map, this makes me believe that it has something to do with the player's spawning point but i'm not sure. In the attached picture you can see where the player spawns and the virtual camera with the correct collider.

***Additional Info**** If I set the starting map to the second map the second map works well but now the first map has the problem, so there's something wrong with the implementation and not the spawning point or colliders. Also if possible, I would like to avoid having one vcam per map to keep things manageable.

Thanks! Screen Shot 2018-04-08 at 4.51.43 AM.png

Last edited: Apr 8, 2018
  2. VEWO

VEWO

nvm, all I had to do was to destroy and instantiate the vcam.

3. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

Yes, that would work. But FYI to explain what was happening: the confiner caches the level boundaries for performance. When you changed levels, probably the old cache was still in effect. There is an API call in the confiner to invalidate the cache and force it to rebuild. Instead of destroying the vcam you could just call that.

4. treecki

treecki