Search Unity

  1. Get all the Unite Berlin 2018 news on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.2 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for your feedback on the platforms you use and how you use them. Let us know!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] Checking for changes

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by FeastSC2, Jul 26, 2017.

  1. FeastSC2

    FeastSC2

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    401
    Ever since I've been using Collab I get the "Checking for changes..." loading bar when I start up my project. It usually takes about 2-3 mins for it to finish and there's nothing that's changed from last time.

    Is there something I can do about this?
     
  2. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    810
    Hi @FeastSC2! The "Checking for changes..." loading bar is Collab ensuring that any changes that were made in between now and the last time the project was opened are tracked and accounted for. The time it takes is dependent on the size of your project, so bigger projects will take longer to check for changes. I'm sorry for the inconvenience this may cause.
     
  3. FeastSC2

    FeastSC2

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    401
    Thanks for answering Ryan. I take it from your answer that there really is nothing that can be done about it, is this something Unity devs plan on improving on?
    My project is still relatively small and it's only gonna get bigger, it doesn't seem viable to use Collab on a sizeable project as it stands.
     
  4. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    810
    Sadly, you're right that there isn't much that can be done about it now, outside of keeping your project size small. But it is something that we'll be looking to improve in the future. Would you mind telling me how large your project is now and how big you likely expect it to get?
     
  5. FeastSC2

    FeastSC2

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    401
    Right now it's 4gb.
    The space is mostly taken by textures, I used to use a TexturePacker outside of Unity but now that there is a better inbuilt system Atlas Sprite within Unity, I actually put my raw textures in Unity, so that takes up more space in the project but I do it because it's making me work significantly faster than with TexturePacker and it's a great system.
    But then so is Collab ;)

    I think my project could take up to 30-40gb easily down the line.

    This is a screenshot of how my project's space is distributed. 3gb are taken up by the library which is odd to me but that shouldn't matter as I saw in a forum thread that the only thing that gets shared and analyzed by Collab is the Asset folder, right?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    810
    You're right that Collab only checks your Assets, as well as your ProjectSettings folder, towards your cloud storage used. So technically your project, as far as Collab is concerned, is around 1GB.

    If you're keeping raw textures in your Assets folder then what you can do, after you've committed your textures, is exclude your RawTextures folder using the .collabignore file, located in the root of your project. Adding a rule like "Assets/Textures/RawTextures/" will tell Collab to stop keeping track of anything in that folder, which will both cut down your startup time and on the total size of your project in Collab. Just make sure to comment out the ignore rule if you want to make changes to anything in that folder and sync them.
     
  7. FeastSC2

    FeastSC2

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    401
    Ok cool thanks for the tip Ryan. I'll use it!
     
    ryanc-unity likes this.
  8. kevinzhow

    kevinzhow

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    You can save the project to SSD drive to speedup the performance
     
  9. DigitalIPete2

    DigitalIPete2

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    A good work around would be for Unity to make a button which - if we want to press, we can. This would mean we choose to check for changes or not, therefore factor in time for a check if we want to.
     
    pcg, CRYWOLF86, AndyNeoman and 2 others like this.
  10. lucaslosi

    lucaslosi

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Please.
     
    AndyNeoman and Artaani like this.
  11. AndyNeoman

    AndyNeoman

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Posts:
    669
    My project has suddenly started checking for changes whenever it feels like. This is big problem now it is around 14gb. I understand when i load the project but any idea why it is suddenly doing it intermittently?
     
  12. Necka_

    Necka_

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    161
    Hey there, same for me since a few days now I got issues with Collaborate.
    First one is that it says I have no Unity Teams seat and I need to contact the owner (which is me). I checked in my Unity ID and I do have Unity teams advanced enabled and paid for and a seat allocated to me.

    Also I have from time to time the "hold on - checking for changes" popping in while I'm in the middle of my work, I didn't even save or else. The project is opened all day and I didn't close/reopen Unity. It just come and block me for some minutes for absolutely nothing.

    fun part is that my colleague (we're only two) is on holiday for a week now and didn't open Unity since that, so Collaborate is just drunk from my point of view right now.

    Edit: it just did it as I typed this message and the Unity teams error popped again:
    Image 115.jpg
     
    AndyNeoman likes this.
  13. AndyNeoman

    AndyNeoman

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Posts:
    669

    Yes, i've suddenly got this the last day or two. maybe a server issue?
     
  14. Dr4g0n

    Dr4g0n

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I see the blue little icons indicating which file was added or changed. Meaning you already have somewhere stored what are the local changes. Then why it is checking the whole project instead of just asking for the rest of the clients to provide their "local changes list", and simply just compare? Surely, it would not take so much time to check that... if this is not possible for any reason, then please just add a button so we can run this check manually. Or just run it when publishing...
     
  15. CRYWOLF86

    CRYWOLF86

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    You mean like version CONTROL or something? That process is standard for every version control I've worked with, with the exception of Collab.
     
  16. MauroRobert

    MauroRobert

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Just bumping this as well wondering if this process could somehow be moved to the background, so you can continue working on something while Unity is checking for changes. I have to say it's pretty fast if the project isn't huge, but I do feel it's a bit of a drawback to Collab when compared to P4V, which does the same thing without slowing down the editor.
     
  17. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    810
    Hi everyone!

    I'm sorry for the delay in providing an update on this issue. The team has been busy refactoring Collaborate so that it can work with Unity's new Packages system. This way we can update our service independent of the Editor and get out fixes to you guys faster than ever! In the process of this refactor we're also including several fixes to many of our more annoying issues, including the "Checking for changes" prompt at startup. This fix will completely remove the need for the check, giving all that time that was previously being taken up back to the users!

    We are aiming to have this fix available for 2018.3, but because of how big of a refactor this change is we won't be able to back port this fix to an earlier version. We're very sorry for the inconvenience but we are working hard to get this fix out as quickly as possible. Thank you all for your feedback! We are hearing your concerns and are working to make Collaborate better for everyone!
     
    tweedie likes this.
  18. MauroRobert

    MauroRobert

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Thanks for the heads up, glad you guys continue working on improvements! :) Collab's working very nicely, it's just these little things that could be improved upon.
     
  19. thetnswe

    thetnswe

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    34
    In Windows, it took like one hour while in MAC, it ony take 1-2 minutes.
     
  20. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    810
    Hi @thetnswe! Would you mind getting in touch with our Support Team and submitting a repro project that demonstrates the long load times between Windows and Mac for you?
     
  21. SuperScience

    SuperScience

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Posts:
    9
    I'm also seeing this problem. It took me about an hour to open my project this morning.

    This is really unacceptable for load time. I'm trying to get my work done. I can't afford to lose an hour every time I want to open a project.

    I realize that Collaborate is doing a lot of stuff - but you could work-around this. Either make it a background process that doesn't block me from working, or allow me to remain desynchronized with the Unity cloud until I choose to sync. That way, I can get some work done and then sync when it is convenient, rather than taking up a full hour of prime development time.

    PS: My project is currently at 26 GB. Its a big game. Is this larger than you would recommend for Collaborate?
     
  22. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    810
    Hi @SuperScience! We do understand that this check at startup is a big pain point for users with big projects. We're in the process of refactoring the backend of Collab so that this check will no longer be blocking and are aiming to have it ready for 2019.1. But because of the work that we're doing to move Collab over to Packages (which is taking up most of our time at the moment) it'll be possible to immediately back port this fix to 2018.3 when the fix is out.