Search Unity

[Solved] Changes to customized UnityStandardInput.cginc are ignored?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by phlake, Jul 14, 2018.

1. phlake

phlake

I am trying to make a small change to the standard shader to add an additional additive color to Emission. However, my changes seem to have no effect. I am surely missing something obvious, but I'm a noob and I don't know what I could have missed. Here's what I've done:

After downloading the built-in shaders source matching the version of Unity that I'm using (2018.1.1f1), I created a new folder named "Shaders" in my Assets. I copied two files from the downloaded source to my new Shaders folder: Standard.shader (from DefaultResourcesExtra) and UnityStandardInput.cginc (from CGIncludes).

I renamed the file Standard.shader to CustomStandard.shader.

I then edited the CustomStandard.shader file, making three small changes. First, I renamed the shader at the top of the file:

Code (csharp):
    1. Shader "CustomStandard"
    Then I defined my new emission-related property at line 32 near the existing emission properties:

Code (csharp):
    1. _EmissionExtraColor("Extra Color", Color) = (0,0,0)
    Finally, at the bottom of the file I commented out the CustomEditor:

Code (csharp):
    1. //CustomEditor "StandardShaderGUI"
    Next I moved on to edit my copy of UnityStandardInput.cginc to modify the emission calculation. First I defined my new property (placing it near the two existing emission properties at line 52):

Code (csharp):
    1. half4       _EmissionExtraColor;
    and then I modified the return value of the Emission(...) function at line 199:

Code (csharp):
    1. return tex2D(_EmissionMap, uv).rgb * _EmissionColor.rgb + _EmissionExtraColor.rgb;