Search Unity

[Solved] Cannot find package for memory profiler

Discussion in 'Profiler Previews' started by 00christian00, Dec 13, 2018.

  1. 00christian00

    00christian00

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Posts:
    791
    Hi,
    I have downloaded Unity 2018.3.0f2 and I can't see the memory profiler in the preview packages.
    Has it been recalled?
     
  2. Skjalg

    Skjalg

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Posts:
    150
    The only post here states at the bottom that its not yet visible.

    It's appareantly released. but not visible. :D
     
  3. MartinTilo

    MartinTilo

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2017
    Posts:
    262
    Yes, sorry about the hold up on the visibility. If you want to give it a spin, you can follow the instructions Charles outlined here. It should become visible in the packman UI tomorrow though.
     
  4. 00christian00

    00christian00

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Posts:
    791
    Thanks! I can see it now.
    Seem very useful, will take a while to dig in all the features.

    By the way, the diff is comparing every changes not just new allocations? Because it's listing almost all objects many of which I am sure I am not allocating at runtime.
     
  5. MartinTilo

    MartinTilo

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2017
    Posts:
    262
    It is listing all of them. The first column, labeled "Diff", states which objects are new, deleted or the same in both. You can click the column header to group them or match to show only one of those.
     
    00christian00 likes this.
  6. 00christian00

    00christian00

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Posts:
    791
    I get it now, thanks!
     
  7. mkracik

    mkracik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    My executable running on Windows in Unity Player is available in the Memory Profiler drop-down, but button Capture Player is always grayed-out. How can I make it work? (Capture Editor works but contains a lot of allocations unrelated to my code.)
     
  8. alexrvn

    alexrvn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Posts:
    19
    Hi mkracik, we are aware of the issue, there is a flag which is not getting reset, a simple work around after building your player is to simply close and reopen the memory profiler window. We are going to push a fix for this today ^_^.
     
  9. alexrvn

    alexrvn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Posts:
    19
    Above issue has been fixed and the package (ver 0.1.0-preview.3) is visible.
     
    Greg_Wojciechowski likes this.
  10. mkracik

    mkracik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    Thank you, it works for me now.