Search Unity

[SOLVED]Camera jitter as soon as using Lerp

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Craze74, Oct 16, 2019.

1. Craze74

Craze74

Hello everyone !

I checked a lot of existing posts, tried a lot of things but could not figure it out.

I am moving an object using character controller, my camera is following it and looking at it that way :

Code (CSharp):
    1. transform.position = player.position;
    2. Quaternion lookRot = Quaternion.LookRotation(player.position - transform.position);
    3. transform.rotation = lookRot;
    This is in late update, and I am moving my object in Update.

This is working fine, but as soon as I am trying to smooth out the movement using a Lerp, camera begins to jitter.
    From what I understood it seems it is related to the Lerp function ( OR that we should not be using a point that is moving as the first parameter ? ), and since I am pretty new to dealing to camera movement, I am not sure how to do things right to fix it correctly without surcharging and adding non necessary stuff..

I tried using the lerp like this :

Code (CSharp):
    1. Vector3 smoothMov = Vector3.Lerp(transform.position, position, Time.deltaTime * 30f);
    2.             transform.position = smoothMov;
    I could try to use SmoothDamp, but I also saw that it was more processing time consuming than a Lerp

Thanks !

Last edited: Oct 16, 2019
  2. Giustitia

Giustitia

Hi!

Try using a value like 0.1f on the alpha parameter of the Lerp instead using Time.deltaTime * 30

Hope it helps, cheers!

3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Yeah your use of "Time.deltaTime * 30f" is a problem. It should be a percentage of the full movement expressed as a value between 0f and 1f.

Generally you'd have two points you are moving between over several frames as you increase that percent value each frame. Though changing those points every frame like it looks like you're doing is going to make it difficult to smoothly lerp between them.

Giustitia likes this.
  4. Craze74