Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question [Solved] Animating a focus pull using URP built-in Post Processing

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by alexroflol, May 9, 2020.

1. alexroflol

alexroflol

I'm trying to animate a focus pull during a camera move but having a bit of trouble. I read this thread but, from what I understood of it (I am very new to Unity!), this solution requires me to add a Cinemachine Post Processing extension to the camera.

I tried this, but my problem is that it doesn't seem to accept profiles created using the built-in post-processing of the URP. I would rather not go back and create a new profile with this (older?) method as I have just managed to set up my desired effects in the URP.

Sorry if I'm missing something obvious - as I said, I'm quite new to this. Any advice would be greatly welcome, thank you!

2. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

Instead of the CinemachinePostProcessing extension, use a CinemachineVolumeSettings extension. That works with the builtin URP post processing.

3. alexroflol

alexroflol

Thanks for the advice! I am now able to use my desired profile, but the ability to directly access the depth of field is still unavailable, unless I'm missing something? The volume settings gives me a bool to focus on the target and an offset float.

4. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

That's what you have to work with. The profile is an asset, so should not be animated. To animate the focus distance, set the bool and animate the offset in the CM VolumeSettings extension.

Liderangel likes this.
  5. alexroflol

alexroflol

Thankyou, I've just tried this and it has worked!

Gregoryl likes this.
  6. Danielsantalla

Danielsantalla