Search Unity

Soldier holding a gun

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Soumikbhat, May 21, 2014.

1. Soumikbhat

Soumikbhat

Hello all, I'm new to animations and just leared the mecanim system of animating in unity.

What I want is this:

My character should hold a gun and perform some mocap animations as given in the Animator Panel.

But my problem is that whenever I have anyone of the default animations playing like walking/running of the MOcap Asset provided by Unity Assets under the free section, the hands of the soldier do not remain in the holding-gun position. I tried Body Mask by preventing the hands from playing the animation, but what I want is that the hands should be in a custom pose set by me, and not by the animation. I tried to set the hands in a gun-holding position by rotating the bones/muscles etc. but neither did that work, since this strictly recommends that the character stays in a T-pose - which is not possible once I change it to a gun-holding position.. :(

2. Keemo

Keemo

You need to create a new Layer and create a new Avatar Mask where u only selected the arms. Then you can choose a weight for that layer and when u use 1, the character will always hold his arms in the position u want.
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Documentation/Manual/AnimationLayers.html
    Btw. which animation do you use? Im currently searching a weapon holding animation.

3. Soumikbhat

Soumikbhat

I was thinking of using the running animation with the arms holding the gun :p

Not being able to do it properly, so am also in the same boat as you are

4. KCroxtonJr

KCroxtonJr

I think this is the same issue I'm dealing with, and am struggling to figure out the solution. I think I've seen a couple of other threads with others having the same issue, and either nobody has the answer or nobody is just replying.