Search Unity

Socket: unable to join multicast group

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Elecman, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. Elecman

    Elecman

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Posts:
    1,339
    Recently this error started popping up as soon as open Unity with any project:

    and

    I am not sure what the cause is or how it will affect me.
     
  2. Meater6

    Meater6

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Posts:
    25
    I have the same error. Do you have internet at your location? It doesn't happen if the internet is up, at least for me.

    In my current location, I can't have my internet running constantly, and it can be a little annoying to clear it every time. I don't know a way how to get rid of the error, at least permanently.

    So far, I haven't noticed any effects that it may have caused.
     
  3. Elecman

    Elecman

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Posts:
    1,339
    With me the error has disappeared now. It doesn't make a difference whether the internet is up or not. I have filed a bug report.
     
  4. mrKaizen

    mrKaizen

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    139
    The same also for me... restarted unity, nothing changed. Any ideas? :|
     
  5. Elecman

    Elecman

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Posts:
    1,339
    With me the problem re-appeared as well. Strange...
     
  6. SantaKlaus

    SantaKlaus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    I have the same error.

    for me it started when I started messy cross-patching between two svn-branches of my project. ...
     
  7. Rayman1337

    Rayman1337

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    same here
    have my project in a Dropbox sync...
     
  8. Nicholas Jonah

    Nicholas Jonah

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1

    I have noticed the same thing that upon having internet connection the error just disappeared.
     
  9. Caviarail

    Caviarail

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Same problem here. Appears even on recently created projects. The error appears since the last update 4.2.0.f4
     
  10. atmuc

    atmuc

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Posts:
    1,035
    any solution for this? i also get this error;

    Socket: unable to join multicast group, error: Operation has failed with error 0x2726: An invalid argument was supplied.
    (0)
     
  11. calbar

    calbar

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    Same here, can't think of anything that would have caused this to start happening. Using Git for version control.
     
  12. Assault

    Assault

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Posts:
    59
    I also got this error. It seems to be come up somewhat randomly when opening Unity...a bug?
     
  13. Caviarail

    Caviarail

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Am I the only one who still gets these 2 errors when starting Unity? (version 4.3.0f4)
    Code (csharp):
    1. Socket: unable to join multicast group, error: Operation has failed with error 0x2726
    2. Unable to join player connection multicast group.
     
  14. atmuc

    atmuc

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Posts:
    1,035
    i get these errors on my machine that uses proxy and member of a domain. it is windows 8. do you have similar specifications?
     
  15. Spetsdod

    Spetsdod

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    I am now getting this error whenever I start Unity on my desktop PC. I have uninstalled Unity and reinstalled it, returned and obtained a new license, but nothing helps. While the error can just be cleared, it is preventing any project I load or create from working correctly. This is a very recent development. Nothing on my PC has changed since the last time it worked until now where it doesn't work. Unity still works on my laptop, but nothing I do lets me open projects or create projects without getting this error.

    I have restarted my router, restarted my PC, even tried to launch Unity in safe mode.

    There were a lot of people having this same issue in this thread, but never any resolution. How do we fix this issue?

    Worked fine two days ago, doesn't work today. Windows 7 Pro, 8gb RAM, etc, etc, etc.

    edit: I just returned my license key, then completely uninstalled Unity3d using Revo Uninstaller, then ran CCleaner until it came up clean, then deleted every Unity folder I could find on my PC, restarted my computer and reinstalled Unity3D then obtained a new license, and I get the same errors.

    Two of them.

    Socket: unable to join multicast group, error: Operation has failed with error 0x2726: An invalid argument was supplied.
    (0)

    and

    Unable to join player connection multicast group.

    I can open the demo project Angry Bots 4.0, but the stage is empty, I still get the error, and the hierarchy starts empty even though all the assets are imported. As it turns out, I can reload the scene and it seems to work, but the error still happens every time I open or create a project.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014
  16. StarManta

    StarManta

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    7,294
    Chiming in. I, too, get this error opening any project file. Have internet access. OS X 10.8.5, Unity 4.3.4.
     
  17. warmaha

    warmaha

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Ye, this is strange. I got these 2 error messages today when created new empty project without assets. Win7 with Unity 4.3.0f4, internet connection was working normally and there was no other computers at local area network at moment.
     
  18. Grinay

    Grinay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    i also get this error; How to resolve this error?
     
  19. StarManta

    StarManta

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    7,294
    I can't believe this bug has still had no resolution. For the last year or so I've always gotten it. Every project. Every computer. Every copy of Unity. Every possible network configuration. Two different OS's. These two errors are there every. single. time. I open up a project in Unity.
     
    bluntcoder and DarkProgrammer like this.
  20. DarkProgrammer

    DarkProgrammer

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    I came here looking for A solution to the error messages below, but, it looks like there is none at this point.

    Socket: unable to join multicast group, error: Operation has failed with error 0x2726: An invalid argument was supplied.
    (0)

    Unable to join player connection multicast group.
     
    Anupamb likes this.
  21. StarManta

    StarManta

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    7,294
    Still happening in the 4.6 beta, too.
     
  22. Tea_Man88

    Tea_Man88

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Running Unity 4.5.3f3
    Started showing while using git for one of my projects.
    Didn't start popping up right away, took several days/commits before I started to notice it.
    Doesn't seem to affect anything negatively. Just the fact its there when I start up Unity bugs me.
     
  23. Hagakure

    Hagakure

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    I just started getting this message too. It is kind of irritating, although it doesn't really seem to affect anything. Just giving this uneasy feeling... should I trust this platform or not? Please fix it asap.
     
  24. Xitech_

    Xitech_

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Posts:
    127
    Im getting the same error, and even worse: I cant build anything to my phone as it does not detect my phone anymore.
    Seeing this post it looks like im basically screwed. Any solution yet?
     
  25. JohnBC

    JohnBC

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Solved.

    Install the unity web player and reboot your system.

    What a beautiful day.
     
  26. StarManta

    StarManta

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    7,294
    @Elezor: Did it, was really excited, got the errors again on startup. (4.6.1 on OS X)
     
  27. StarManta

    StarManta

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    7,294
    Actually that may have made the issue worse? I'm now getting new errors at random times after start-up (though it's possible this is a different thing entirely).

    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. Socket: connect failed, error: Connection refused(61)
    3.  
    4.  
    5. ------
    6.  
    7. connect failed
    8.  
    9.  
    10. ------
    11.  
    12. Failed to connect to player ip: 192.168.0.213, port: 55000
    13.  
     
  28. pallav_panda

    pallav_panda

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    I get the exact same error every time I open Unity for the first time. I've been getting it from Unity 4.6 to Unity 5. I use SVN for version control, not sure if that has a connection though because it pops up in projects which are not even in SVN. Good thing is that it doesn't cause a problem in anything; bad thing is that it's really irritating to clear it every time I open Unity.
     
  29. StarManta

    StarManta

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    7,294
    I was getting this error long before I ever started using version control.
     
  30. Naayte

    Naayte

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Hey guys, hopefully I found a fix!

    It worked for me; hopefully you have the same luck.

    Open Unity, assuming you get the same errors.
    Click Help > Manage License > Activate New License

    Continue to Active a new License under the same account you've been using. Do not create a different Unity Account.

    Close Unity and reload it.

    With luck - voila!

    Let me know if this helped?
     
    Anupamb, chrisk8er and Zubac like this.
  31. QQ3

    QQ3

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Yes, it's good!
     
  32. wan_kui

    wan_kui

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    install web player, then ok!
     
  33. CFprime

    CFprime

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    This resolved it for me.

    1. Help-> Manage License -> Check for updates.
    2. This renewed my license automatically and responded..."License Updated."
    3. Restart.

    Couple of things that may cause this.
    1. Unity periodically re-validates you local license.
    2. When this happens your internet connection could be flaking out.
     
  34. genericdude

    genericdude

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    I'm also experiencing this and none of the solutions above have worked. I didn't have this problem with the Unity 5 beta if that makes any difference.
     
  35. hexagonius

    hexagonius

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    96
    I had this error with Unity 5.1.2f1

    Steps performed:
    - Help-> Manage License -> Check for updates
    - Install the unity web player and reboot your system

    My guess is, the second fixed it
     
  36. deab

    deab

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Ran 'Check for updates' and a 'license updated' message appeared, seemed to fix the issue for me.
     
  37. Fredashay

    Fredashay

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    I'm just a hobbyist using the free version, so I have no license to update. But this problem just started happening to me, too. I have Time Warner, and so I have problems with my Internet dropping regularly throughout the day. I did what Elezor suggested. Installing Unity Web Player which stopped the message from appearing when I start Unity.
     
  38. genericdude

    genericdude

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    No luck for me with installing the web player. Is there any information I can give to help track the problem down in the future?
     
  39. TheGering

    TheGering

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    27
    still the error, web player is no longer part of unity:

     
  40. amano_tooko

    amano_tooko

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    I'm sure a soft "Proxifier" can cause this problem
     
  41. lakechan96

    lakechan96

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Yeah you're right, It fixed after I uninstall Proxifier winsock module
     
  42. Ali_Akbar_Montazeri

    Ali_Akbar_Montazeri

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Posts:
    186
    For me I resolved this just by simply run it in offline mode. And then you can connect your internet again and poof the errors gone.
     
  43. yamlCase

    yamlCase

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    34
    I have also been getting this error for some time. In Unity 5.5.2, 5.5.3 and 5.6.

    I tried the webplayer and license update "tricks" and no dice.
     
    FlyFoskill and roddles like this.
  44. petey

    petey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,305
    Hey I'm having this problem too :( It's actually been happening for ages but I finally cracked and searched here but it seems like the solution didn't work for me.
    It's annoying having to just ignore errors...
     
  45. yanzi1314

    yanzi1314

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Why do people only issue problems, and no one solves them? Four years on, everyone has solved the problem. Can someone give us a solution
     
    MikeWise likes this.
  46. afgenovese

    afgenovese

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    I tried all of the above

    * Install the Unity Web Player
    * Update/ renew license
    * Run offline
    * Run online

    Still getting the same errors. On both my desktop (Unity 2017 / Mac OSX Sierra) and my Laptop (Unity 5.6.4f1 / Windows 10)

    PLEASE RESOLVE! OR EXPLAIN WHAT IS HAPPENING

    this just happened randomly one day and never went away... it is like a curse that I cant get rid of
     
    MikeWise and red2blue like this.
  47. HenryT

    HenryT

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Try reset your network adapters.
     
  48. nagibatr

    nagibatr

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Hey guys! Try to delete proxifier or other vpn soft, it helped me well! :)
     
  49. raduimbuzan17n

    raduimbuzan17n

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same problem and after I reinstalled my windows I don't have this problem anymore. Probably was from vpm program or virtualbox.
     
    MikeWise likes this.
  50. Gusts92

    Gusts92

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    I still have this problem, and I did literally everything you said in previous steps. It lingers even in 2018.1 (beta).
     
    MikeWise likes this.
unityunity