Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Slicing object into little cubes to detect where user is touching the object

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by fraeri, Nov 21, 2018.

1. fraeri

fraeri

Hi,
    I'm relatively new to unity, but programming itself is not new to me. I hope I'm right here.

I need to know where the user has touched a 3D object. My idea was to slice the object into little cubes (dimensions of them should adjustable) and then detect which cube was touched. Slicing Mesh is not a new thing, you can find payed assets to make like sword slices. But I never saw this type of "organized" slicing.

I want to know if I'm on the right path or if I miss a much simpler solution, like some kind of Grid overlay. The thing with overlaying a grid is that I want to make it possible to touch inner cubes of the object as well.

Thank you for your help.

Last edited: Aug 29, 2019
  2. Hosnkobf

Hosnkobf

Hi,
    Your idea is basically to convert the model to voxels. There are voxel engines in the asset store, but I am not sure if they allow to convert meshes into voxels as you desire.

However, a simple raycast could also give you the location on the surface of your mesh (or: mesh collider)... Is that not enough for you?

3. fraeri

fraeri

Hi Hosnkobf,
    Thank you for your quick answer!!

Voxel is a new topic for me. After a quick research, I think it is not exactly what I'm looking for, but pretty damn close! Because I need the surface of the original object to be preserved. Or is that possible without making the Voxel dimensions really small.
    But Quick Idea: When I convert the object into Voxel, place it exactly over the original object and make it transparent so that the user can't actually see the voxel-object and thinks he is touching the real object. Possible, right?