Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

SLI and Split Frame Rendering in unity

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Blorp, Oct 1, 2014.

  1. Blorp

    Blorp

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Hello everyone,

    We are currently developping a multi-screen application in directx11 with unity. We have 7 pc in a cluster, each one renders for one 4k display.

    Each pc has a 3-way sli with GeForce GTX 780Ti.
    Our probleme is related to sli.

    We first used Alternate Frame Rendering modes, but it can't be correctly used in our environment because this leads to some visual desynchronisation between the differents screens. (as each GPU renders at its own speed, and if we synchronise correctly the gpus each frame we're losing the advantages of sli) I would like to know if it is possible to activate and use the Split Frame Rendering mode instead, which would be much more fitted for our needs.

    After activating SFR mode with nvidiainspector, our unity application doesn't even start.
    Is SFR mode compatible with directx11?
    Is SFR mode compatible with unity?

    Are you aware of someone who deals with these kind of problems before?

    Thanks for your answers
     
  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,388
    Hi,

    I'm not aware why it shouldn't be compatible. Could you go into more specifics of it "doesn't even start"? Could you post the player log?
     
  3. Blorp

    Blorp

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,

    Here is the player log.
    I meant that the application crashes at start without even creating a window.

    Thanks for your reactivity
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,388
    Looks like something goes really wrong. Does this happen on an empty project as well?
     
  5. Blorp

    Blorp

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Yes, this one was an empty project.
     
  6. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,388
    I suppose you're running the latest driver?

    Could you report a bug with relevant info (computer specs, driver version, all the repro steps)? That way it won't get lost and it will end up being looked at by the right people.
     
  7. droderick

    droderick

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    We have a similar setup and are looking into using SLI with Quadro K6000's (4). Do you have any additional info on SFR & unity?
    thanks
     
  8. droderick

    droderick

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Hi Blorp,
    did you end up finding anything else out about SFR & unity? let us know. many thanks,
     
  9. duke

    duke

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    763
    I'm interested too!
     
unityunity