Search Unity

Skip part of application logic

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by alexanderfarr, Apr 5, 2021.

  1. alexanderfarr

    alexanderfarr

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Dear community,

    I am completely new to Unity. I received the code for a Unity project from a friend and run it with File > Build and Run. However, the application is quite long so I would like to skip the questionnaire at the beginning and jump to the environment (or even better to specific points in the sequence of actions).

    Additionally, there is one part of the project where I am supposed to drag an object somewhere. For some reason, this does not work. Is it possible to skip this specific step?

    Thanks for your help!
     
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,727
    Yes.

    How to report your problem productively in the Unity3D forums:

    http://plbm.com/?p=220

    How to understand compiler and other errors and even fix them yourself:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/ass...3-syntax-error-expected.1039702/#post-6730855

    If you post a code snippet, ALWAYS USE CODE TAGS:

    How to use code tags: https://forum.unity.com/threads/using-code-tags-properly.143875/

    Also, consider this:
     
  3. alexanderfarr

    alexanderfarr

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for your answer Kurt-Dekker. Since I did not develop the code on my own, I do not even want to dive into there. Is there some form when executing build & run to skip the current logic unit or to at least see in which part of the code the current environment is?
     
  4. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,727
    Unity is never just code. It's always some random dance between code and assets sequenced together. You kind of have to understand what is actually happening in your program before you can reason about changing it. If you want to attempt this, start with some basic tutorials or ask your friend how to skip stuff.
     
  5. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    11,847
    You'd need to know more about how the project is organized. For example, the scenes might be independent from each other and you might be able to just open the scene for whatever you actually want to work on and just hit Play in the Editor to start from there.

    But scenes in Unity can be organized any number of ways, you might need multiple scenes running at the same time, you might need objects to be created in earlier scenes, etc, so you'd really need to understand how this project is organized to know how to skip parts of it.
     
  6. alexanderfarr

    alexanderfarr

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Ok thanks for your answers, I will then try to understand the sequence with him.