Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

Skinning editor on multiple sprite assets

Discussion in '2D Experimental Preview' started by TJHeuvel-net, Sep 16, 2019.

1. TJHeuvel-net

TJHeuvel-net

I'm not an artist, so i'm using Kenneys amazing packages for my art. The characters come in separate files, is there any way to make a rig without merging them? My initial attempt was to just make a Sprite Atlas edit and try to add it there, but it seems like i am forced to first put them all in the same PSD, and then Unity packs them apart again.

upload_2019-9-16_12-51-15.png

Last edited: Sep 16, 2019
  2. nikefootbag

nikefootbag

Did you happen to find a solution to this? I’m wondering how to do the same.
    If it’s not possible with current editor gui, i’m also wondering if it can be achieved via custom editor script

3. Ted_Wikman

Ted_Wikman

Unity Technologies

My advice is that you build the character up with multiple layers inside Photoshop. If Photoshop is not for you, users have found success with other DCC tools. Having the character in one .psd/.psb file will give you a much easier workflow than spreading it out over multiple .pngs.

The Sprite Editor only allows editing of one source file (.png) at a time, so if you really want to build a character using multiple .pngs, you would have to create one bone structure per .png and then assemble them all inside a prefab.

4. nikefootbag

nikefootbag

Thanks @Ted_Wikman , you seem to be the go to for all things Sprite Skinning Editor.
    So is the way that the Sprite Skinning editor displays psd layers just not replicatable with a custom editor script?