Search Unity

SketchUp to Unity Workflow

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by eneroth3, Nov 1, 2018.

1. eneroth3

eneroth3

I've been using Unity for about two weeks now and have learned lots! I've looked into C# scripting, had a quick look on shaders, almost completed my own seamless portals and very much enjoy working in Unity.

However, there is one thing that I think is a real pain, one thing that makes me leave my computer and go brush my hair or something rather than get on with my project: the SketchUp import workflow. I don't know if I miss something obvious, if there is a problem with the design of the Unity import, or a little of both.

I've been using SketchUp for 10+ years, mostly for architectural modeling, and naturally want to use it for my level design (I intend to look into Blender for character design with animations and stuff). I want to do as much of the level design as possible in SketchUp with its superior tools for copying, moving, rotating etc, not just create individual pieces and assemble the scene in Unity. I still haven't found a way to rotate a GameObject around a custom axis, or use a vertex outside your selection as starting point when precisely moving it.

When trying Unity's native SketchUp support, all textures were missing. I don't know if I missed some setting, and the only workaround I can find online is to first export a FBX from SketchUp, and import that instead in Unity. Already here the workflow gets one extra annoying step.