Search Unity

Sketchup to Blender

Discussion in 'Animation' started by DiggerQuest, Feb 15, 2015.

1. DiggerQuest

DiggerQuest

Hello, I'm new to Unity and game developing, I'm currently working in a personal and educational project.

I am trying to figure out an efficient way to model my characters and animate them afterwards. My design area is architecture, so the most flexible tool I have knowledge in is Sketchup.

The process I'm using right now is as follows:

1. I hand-draw the character I want to animate, and simplify its geometry to polygons in front, side and rear view.
    2. Then I import this diagram into Sketchup and redraw every polygon and start sculping the character's body based on each view. I keep every limb separated by making them into components (Head, arms, shoulders, etc.), so the geometry won't get mixed up.

I wonder if it is possible to export this model I have right now into Blender or another platform so I can polish it a bit more, and animate it, but I'm not sure if it will conserve the geometry separated in components as I did in Sketchup before.

I've heard Blender is much more specialized into character design and animation, and also has the option to put hair and soften edges.

An initial idea for modeling it in Sketchup was to use simple shapes and make the model have more quality through textures (like in PSX games), so they had a low polygon count. Although, I'm not sure if softening edges in Blender affects the polygon count a lot (Subdivide or Soften Edges?).

Thanks in advance for your attention and advice. I'll try to update my advance in this so it can help others who are in the same learning process I am in.

ThatRobRobinson likes this.
  2. ThatRobRobinson

ThatRobRobinson

Hey there!

I'm also fairly new to game design and coding, but I have got this one figured out.